AC and blower works on "ON" setting but not on "AUTO"

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-07-15, 04:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AC and blower works on "ON" setting but not on "AUTO"

We had the thermostat changed twice but it did not help. It's an odd issue the ac and the blower work fine while on the ON setting but when switch to AUTO the the compressor will kick off and the blower will still go for a few minutes. But as soon as the unit goes completely off and the temperature raises the fan will kick on for about 30 seconds and the thermostat tries to start the compressor but it's doesn't. The COOL ON light will blink non stop. I have 2 technicians come by but they tell me everything with the unit and the wiring is fine. I believe it's something to do with the timer in the ac unit it self. So if anyone had to issue before please do help.

We have a Honeywell pro 3000
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-07-15, 04:56 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So the unit didn't malfuntion while the tech's were there?
 
  #3  
Old 06-07-15, 11:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They think it's the thermostat but it's been replaced 2x already.
 
  #4  
Old 06-08-15, 12:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You posted in the air conditioning forum so we can assume you do not have a heatpump system.

Your system probably has a timer on the blower fan which is why it runs after the thermostat stops calling for cooling. Your thermostat has a compressor delay timer built into it so when you call for cool..... the blower starts and the display blinks cooling until the timing period ends and the compressor restarts.

Your compressor may also have a timer in it which will further delay compressor starting.
 
  #5  
Old 06-08-15, 11:33 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 9
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm having a similar problem with my AC/Furnace in the house I just moved into. During the home inspection, the stat was in the ON position. My bad for not testing in Auto. I noticed yesterday though that the blower is coming on only when the AC is being requested. It seems like it is running as if it is in Auto when in On.
 
  #6  
Old 06-08-15, 11:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So what can be done to solve the issue?
 
  #7  
Old 06-08-15, 01:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is the make and model number of the furnace and AC?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: