mysterious condensation

Old 06-18-15, 02:40 PM
K
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question mysterious condensation

Hi
Recently condensation has been pooling up in the room next to the ac in the basement. the ac itself is not leaking and there is no water on the floor around it. Sometime in the fall a company came over to make the house energy efficient and put some foam around the pipes. i fear that this may be the culprit but i am no hvac expert. any advice or online guides to troubleshooting ac condensation problems?

TIA

Old 06-18-15, 02:44 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Welcome to the forums! Would it be possible for you to post a picture or two of where it is leaking, and where you think it is coming from? No close ups please.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html

Old 06-18-15, 02:58 PM
K
no Im sorry I cant as i dont know where exactly it is coming from. I see no leak but just know that the room in the basement next to the ac unit is flooding whenever the ac unit is turned on. i do know however that we had this problem before. The pipe going from the ac unit outside to the inside unit goes over the top of that room.
The ac man took some yellow insulation foam spray stuff off of the line that was leading into the house from the outside and the condensation stopped. I went outside to see if i could remove it and none was on the pipe.
I know it makes things difficult

Old 06-18-15, 04:42 PM
Is your condensate pump operating properly? Pour a cup of water in the pump (there is a hole you can use) and see if it pumps it completely. Check, too, to make sure none of your condensate evacuation line is damaged. A rat hole will put the condensate right back on the floor. BTDT.

Old 06-18-15, 06:19 PM
K
condensate pump? condensate evacuation line?

Old 06-18-15, 06:31 PM
K
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts