Ac compressor explosion

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-22-15, 06:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ac compressor explosion

Hi
how r u
i got yesterday samsung mini split ac unit
with compressor exploded from terminal cover
exactly one of the terminal has blow up
my question
why a compressor blowup?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-22-15, 08:40 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,770
Received 4 Votes on 4 Posts
Hard to say. Wrong voltage? Bad wiring? Bad compressor?
 
  #3  
Old 06-22-15, 02:21 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You are in Iraq. What is the nominal voltage and frequency used there? We are primarily a North American forum, so information on what you have may be sparse. Did you get the mini split already exploded? Can you post pictures of it so we can see what you see? http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #4  
Old 06-23-15, 12:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
voltage in iraq is 220 240
frequency 50 hz
i will post pictures later
 
  #5  
Old 06-24-15, 07:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
here aree photo of the compressor

Name:  20150626_121000_001.jpg
Views: 421
Size:  30.9 KB
 
  #6  
Old 06-24-15, 08:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
and also check this


Name:  ٢٠١٥٠٦٢٦_١٢١٠١.jpg
Views: 522
Size:  34.4 KB
 
  #7  
Old 06-28-15, 09:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
any help pal
thank u in advance
 
  #8  
Old 06-28-15, 09:30 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Adding too much refrigerant will cause that problem.
 
  #9  
Old 06-28-15, 12:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
but i charged it by weight
according to ac plate name
 
  #10  
Old 06-29-15, 08:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
any more info
thank u in advance
 
  #11  
Old 07-02-15, 02:10 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
If it is already ruined, nothing we can say will fix it. How did you determine the weight of the refrigerant versus what the unit needed?
 
  #12  
Old 07-03-15, 08:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
i know it cannot be fixed
this unit in service since 2007
it had freon leakage month ago
i fixed it
vacuum the unit
charged te unit it by weight thru electronic scales
coordinating the manufacturer plate name
it worked about 2 weeks perfectly
as i think
if there is add> refrigerant then the unit will not cool perfectly
p.s. the house owner said about hours before the problem happened
voltage supplied was very low
150 volt
 
  #13  
Old 07-03-15, 02:30 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Well, gee, wow, seems you found the problem after all. Low voltage will burn up compressors all day long. Post #2, Airman suggested that.
 
  #14  
Old 07-04-15, 11:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Iraq
Posts: 51
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ok
thank u
pleze close the thread
best regards
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: