Arcoaire, put in new blower, runs for 20 minutes then shuts off

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-25-15, 06:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Arcoaire, put in new blower, runs for 20 minutes then shuts off

Hello,
Ive got a 6 year old Arcoaire A/C - Furnace unit, Last Friday the blower was humming and not blowing any air, this morning I finally had an HVAC guy come and test it. I was told the blower motor was cooked,($90 bucks later!) so I ordered a brand new OE blower motor ($275.00) and brand now capacitor. Took my time dissembling the unit (after countless you tube videos) took pictures of the wiring put it all back together and boom! PERFECT! for 20 minutes.. The blower is hot to the touch, let it cool down, VIOLA! Runs! For 20 minutes... Shuts off motor is hot to the touch. I'm at lands here folks, my kids are getting heat rash my wife and I are sweating while sleeping, ANY insight would be AWESOME!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-25-15, 06:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Is that a 100% OEM motor...... wire for wire motor ?
 
  #3  
Old 06-25-15, 06:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, 100% OEM, wire for wire
 
  #4  
Old 06-25-15, 06:59 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
When it's running do you get normal airflow out of the registers ?
It almost sounds like the motor is running backwards.

If this is a direct drive unit.... did you put the squirrel cage wheel(s) back on correctly ?
 
  #5  
Old 06-25-15, 07:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The fan is on the right way, and when its working there is normal air flow for 20 minutes, we hurry shut all the widows! then things start to cool and then just shuts off..
 
  #6  
Old 06-25-15, 09:24 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
That pretty much leaves a defective motor.
 
  #7  
Old 06-26-15, 06:42 PM
HVAC RETIRED's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wisconsin USA
Posts: 715
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Something is causing it to gradually overheat.

Is it a PSC run capacitor motor?
If it has a run capacitor test it or buy a new correct MFD 440 volt run capacitor for the motor U bought.

If for some reason there is insufficient static pressure because a supply duct came loose & the blower wheel pulled too much air the motor would over-amp & thus overtime (20-mins) over-heat.

Also, if the motor is pulling too light a load it can overheat; plus not moving enough air over it to keep it from over heating.. Good luck; which U may have if U keep checking for the CAUSE...

The motor is air-cooled by return air flowing over the motor.
Also, if the return air has a bad leak & is pulling hot air from the attic the motor could over-heat.
However, when attic is not real it wouldn't overheat then.

I doubt that the motor is bad; it may not be wired correctly.

If you have an amp-probe check to see if it's pulling the correct amp-draw; also check for correct voltage to the motor.

I doubt its an OEM motor...the motor may not be right for the application...(?)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: