air conditioner not working.

Old 06-29-15, 09:20 PM
air conditioner not working.

I have a comfortmaker air conditioner, and comfortmaker heatpump/furnace. I recently had to move my ac about 20 ft. I had a technician come out and assist in the move. He ran new cooling lines, and we junction boxed the 240V wire. We also had to extend the 24 V wires to the air conditioning unit. After the move, the lines were re-charged and everything worked about a week.

Now the issues. ( I am new to this but have been researching.)
I noticed the fan running and blowing air through the duct work but not cold. I seen that the air conditioning was not running. (no condensor and no fan on ac). I checked and seen that I had 240 Volts incoming so no fuses/breakers were my issue.. I checked the contacter 24V terminals, and had no voltage.

I pushed the contact in and the unit turned on. Upon further review, it looked a little corroded, so I then replaced the contactor. This didn't fix the problem.

So, i started with the thermostat. When reading with a multimeter on the board from red to yellow wires inside the furnace/heat pump that is labeled thermostat, I read 28V with thermostat set to off and auto for the fan. I then changed the thermostat to Cool and auto. As soon as i did that, the multimeter went to 0V on the same board. So, i think my thermostat is sending the correct Voltage change to the board on the heatpump inside furnace.

Where i get confused next is, when i check the red and yellow wires at the junction, i am reading 28 Volts with the thermostat off. When i turn the thermostat on to Cool, I continue to read 28 Volts. My assumption is that is my problem: Shouldn't that drop to 0 Volts like it did on the board?

Thanks in advance. I am appreciate of any help. I am new to the HVAC system. Is there any other tests that I should do at this point? Is there anything that i should jumper on the air conditioning unit to see if it turns on without me pushing the contactor in?