Air Conditioner Putting out Cool but Wet Air

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-05-15, 03:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 43
Air Conditioner Putting out Cool but Wet Air

The thru-wall PTAC air conditioner in my office keeps the room pretty nice and cool, but I just recently noticed that after it's been running, one of my desks that is next to it is coated with condensation. I have electronic equipment on that desk that really shouldn't be exposed to this sort of moisture. Is this normal for an AC unit? I would have thought the air coming out would be dry. Can anyone tell me what the issue might be?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-05-15, 03:23 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,444
Likes Received: 4
Is the cold air blowing directly on the electronic equipment? If so, you're probably getting condensation on the equipment because it's cold and the air is warm and humid. If this is the case, I would try to redirect the airflow so that it's not blowing directly on the equipment. If the A/C capacity is oversized, it won't dehumidify the room adequately.
 
  #3  
Old 07-05-15, 03:24 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,325
Likes Received: 1


A dirty coil or lack of refrigerant can also cause this.
 
  #4  
Old 07-05-15, 05:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 43
Hmmm... Unfortunately it's not really possible to move the equipment without a major redesign of the room, and yes the air is blowing more or less straight at it. I could turn the grate on the AC unit around the other way, but then the cold air would be blowing up and back towards the window above the unit. I guess I could try that. Otherwise I'd need to figure something else out.
 
  #5  
Old 07-05-15, 05:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 43
The coil appears to be clean. And I believe the unit is in good shape and has plenty of refrigerant.
 
  #6  
Old 07-05-15, 07:04 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,325
Likes Received: 1
Does the blower cycle off with the compressor when a cooling setpoint is reached?
 
  #7  
Old 07-05-15, 07:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 43
>> Does the blower cycle off with the compressor when a cooling setpoint is reached?

Yes, it does.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes