Fan not running on outside unit

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-13-15, 02:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fan not running on outside unit

I have very little air coming through my registers and it's not very cold. My indoor blower fan is working and the indoor compressor is operating. I can hear and feel the freon flowing through the exposed cooper pipe. It can get super hot (can't leave my hand on it).

I think my issue is outside with the condenser fan. If I go outside and observe it, the fan is not spinning. But something triggers (the unit even shakes briefly), makes a humming noise, but fan won't come on. At one point it did but only briefly (15 seconds).
Seems like it keeps trying to come on but doesn't.
-air filter in furnace is new
-compressor is not frozen
-stick trick spins fan but not under its own power. So not a bearing issue.
Any ideas please?
-motor shot?
-capacitor?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-13-15, 03:15 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like a bad cap. Grainger's will have one.

Does the fan keep spinning under it own power?
 
  #3  
Old 07-13-15, 03:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The fan actually came on briefly earlier today when I was observing it. But since then nothing....just buzzing etc then buzzing stops. Then starts again a minute or so later.
I can physically turn the fan effortlessly but it won't continue under its own power.
 
  #4  
Old 07-13-15, 05:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
If you are planning on servicing the unit yourself..... you need to turn power off to the outside unit, remove the wiring access cover and visually inspect the fan capacitor. It may be a separate one for the fan or a combined with the compressor in a dual section capacitor.
 
  #5  
Old 07-13-15, 05:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am not well versed when it comes to electricity but I would definitely look in there to see if indeed that is the problem. That way I will not be taken advantage. Can I visually tell if the capacitor is blown or will I need a voltmeter?
 
  #6  
Old 07-13-15, 05:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
Look at the top of the cap to see if it's bulged. That would be one indication it's bad although not all defective caps bulge.

Usually I just swap in a new cap automatically and test from there. They are relatively inexpensive.

Like I mentioned earlier.... be sure to turn off AC power to the condensor unit before removing the wiring panel.
 
  #7  
Old 07-13-15, 07:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Great, thanks pjmax. I'll check in am.
 
  #8  
Old 07-14-15, 04:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks again for the help! She's back up and running! $20 fix....I love this forum!
 
  #9  
Old 07-14-15, 06:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
Wow.... that was quick. Good job.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: