A/C freezing up - A coil in need of cleaning?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-14-15, 02:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 556
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C freezing up - A coil in need of cleaning?

I have a central air conditioner unit that I have had for about 10 years. Recently it started freezing up. I changed the furnace filter. I have never cleaned the A coil. I opened the plenum and was hit by a lot more air from the fan then what I get out of my vents.
I have attached pictures to show what the A Coil looks like. I think it needs to be cleaned. I know I can buy cleaner at home depot that is self rinsing. I want to know if I use it, can it drip on the heating elements down below.

Looking up into bottom of coil. as you can see it is rather dirty.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/96ie0te2m38d5yi/20150714_162104.jpg?dl=0

Name:  w-PgIqeZlj-8HlA5pyza8jdUBGXcu0udGlvxcJo2jTo,hjVYNrP44YSzy6ZuvxEKd8hFlr0Rww8NnR0APEo2nU8.jpg
Views: 152
Size:  25.0 KB

Looking down to what is directly under coil
https://www.dropbox.com/s/t0vvr4r760...62550.jpg?dl=0

Top sides of coil
https://www.dropbox.com/s/ki2atitavu...62223.jpg?dl=0
https://www.dropbox.com/s/8bzru3b5gy...62127.jpg?dl=0
 

Last edited by PJmax; 07-14-15 at 05:40 PM. Reason: added pic from link
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-14-15, 04:01 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,965
Received 15 Votes on 15 Posts
Can't open the pics but the spray cleaner will normally run down the coil surface and into the drain pan.
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 07-14-15, 04:56 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,470
Received 11 Votes on 8 Posts
I was able to see the pictures, and the coil does look quite dirty. It's definitely worth trying to clean it.
 
  #4  
Old 07-14-15, 05:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 556
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was over cautious, it stayed on coil just fine
 
  #5  
Old 07-14-15, 05:44 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
That coil is definitely dirty and causing quite a restriction.
After the cleaning you should be getting a whole lot more airflow.
 
  #6  
Old 07-14-15, 06:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 556
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Before cleaning I noticed the line at the outside part that freezes having a lot of condensation on it. After cleaning it is dry. I don't feel as much air coming out of vents but I may be expecting more
 
  #7  
Old 07-14-15, 06:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,531
Received 327 Votes on 306 Posts
You feel less air now than before you cleaned the coil ?
 
  #8  
Old 07-14-15, 06:52 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 556
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
honestly I can't tell. I don't have a velocity meter so I can't measure and tell for sure. I may just be hot and tired.
Right now it is very humid in my house so I think it may take a bit for the moisture to be pulled out of the air before it really starts to cool it. We have the thermostat set to 76. It reads 82.

Like I said, I did notice no condensation on the line outside and the plenum feels cool to the touch so I am hoping all is well.
 
  #9  
Old 07-14-15, 07:36 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,482
Received 25 Votes on 19 Posts
With that much "fuzz" I would have vacuumed it before using coil cleaner. You should also make sure the drain line from the pan is clear.
 
  #10  
Old 07-14-15, 07:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 556
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I sprayed the cleaner on it then shop vacced it. Then used the cleaner twice more on the bottom part. then rinsed it with clean water. Pan was draining clear water when I was done
 
  #11  
Old 07-15-15, 04:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 556
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am stuck. I went to bed at 10 and everything was fine. I got up to check it at 12 and it was fine. I checked again at 2 and it was fine. I overslept and got up at 6. I was frozen. The temp in the house has gone from 85 to 76 but it took nearly 10 hours.
 
  #12  
Old 07-15-15, 10:00 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,459
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you say no condensation on the outside line ? The 2 outside lines go to the condenser should feel ice cold (large line) and warm(small line), if not, your Freon charge may be low.
 
  #13  
Old 07-15-15, 10:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central MN
Posts: 556
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, I think my coolant is low. Or something worse. Either way it is outside my capabilities. I have a hvac person coming out tomorrow. Hopefully just need coolant.
About how often should it need coolant? Unit is at most 10 years old
 
  #14  
Old 07-15-15, 10:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,459
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Never need to add coolant if there is no leak. so let the AC tech check it out.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: