Outside air conditioner fan is intermittent

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-15-15, 12:56 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Outside air conditioner fan is intermittent

My air conditioner works fine, but about once a day the fan outside does not run, the compressor is on but the fan does not come on. If I turn it off and wait about an hour then turn it back on it works. When the fan is not working it does not even make a noise like its trying to turn. Fan or capacitor need replacing? Or both??? The fan was recently changed and a larger fan was installed but The capacitor was not changed, do you think it might be overheating?? It happens during the hottest part of the day.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-15-15, 02:39 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,496
Received 15 Votes on 10 Posts
You mentioned that a larger fan was installed. Do you mean a larger motor or a larger fan blade assembly? It's important that the new fan move at least as much air as the OEM fan. The fan, in addition to pulling air through the condenser fins, also cools the compressor. If there is insufficient airflow, you could damage your compressor.

If the fan motor was recently replaced but the capacitor was not, I would try replacing the capacitor. Be sure to check the fan motor and see what value (mfd) capacitor the fan motor requires. Not all motors require the same value capacitor, so if the capacitor wasn't replaced, it may be the wrong value for the new motor.
 
  #3  
Old 08-15-15, 11:02 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was the fan motor that was replaced. It only does this about once a day and when outside temps. are above 110 which has been everyday this week. It acts like the fan is just not kicking on, it doesn't seem to be making a binding noise.
 
  #4  
Old 08-15-15, 12:11 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,463
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does the old capacitor match the new fan motor ? Try to use a wood stick to push the fan blade and see if that start the fan.
 
  #5  
Old 08-15-15, 01:53 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I spun it with a stick, but it did not run.
 
  #6  
Old 08-15-15, 02:07 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The motor it 1/2 hp. 1075rpm. 2.5 amp. 60 hz
BesTech
 
  #7  
Old 08-15-15, 02:23 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It says 15 if capacitor
I will probably have to order it off eBay, do you know what I should order? If that's the problem?
 
  #8  
Old 08-15-15, 03:19 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
15 uf capacitor is what I meant to say
 
  #9  
Old 08-15-15, 03:36 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,496
Received 15 Votes on 10 Posts
Is the capacitor a single or dual? A dual capacitor will have 3 terminals, whereas a single will only have two. If a dual capacitor, one side will be a small value (uf), and the other will be a larger value. The smaller value is the fan, while the larger value is the compressor. If you currently have a dual capacitor, get one that is 15uf & whatever the larger value is for the other side. The voltage rating can be whatever the current voltage rating or higher.
 
  #10  
Old 08-15-15, 04:09 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm not sure I have not pulled it apart. So you think it is the capacitor? If I leave it off for a half an hour it will start when I turn it back on.
 
  #11  
Old 08-15-15, 04:26 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The capacitor was not replaced. I don't know what capacitor this fan needs.
 
  #12  
Old 08-15-15, 04:49 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,496
Received 15 Votes on 10 Posts
I understood you to say in messages 7 & 8 that the fan motor label said the motor capacitor should be 15uf. There's no guarantee that replacing the capacitor will solve the problem, however it's inexpensive and it's probably worth replacing.
 
  #13  
Old 08-15-15, 07:37 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I understand that it's not 100% that its the capacitor, but it not working when I spin it with a stick like you said to, does that seem to be a capacitor issue?
 
  #14  
Old 08-15-15, 08:50 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,463
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Either capacitor or fan motor. As mentioned, capacitor is cheap, so try capacitor first, if not, you have to replace the fan motor (and you still have to replace the capacitor with the new motor). try to get a same size fan if you can, not a larger fan.
 
  #15  
Old 08-15-15, 10:54 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The capacitor on it is 40/5 if dual. The motor that is on it now says 15 if capacitor. So do I need to change it and if so where would I get a 40/15 uf dual capacitor ??
 
  #16  
Old 08-15-15, 11:06 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Uf not if (spellcheck was on)
 
  #17  
Old 08-16-15, 06:36 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,496
Received 15 Votes on 10 Posts
I just checked on Amazon. They don't have any 40/15 mfd dual capacitors, only 40/5 (which you already have. You'll have to buy a 15mfd single capacitor to connect to the new fan motor. Since the current 5mfd capacitor is 1/3 the required size (for the new motor), it's very likely that is why the motor isn't running. Below is a link to an Amazon search for the capacitor. You can also probably buy one locally if you have an industrial supply store (Grainger, etc.) near you.

Amazon.com: 15 mfd capacitor
 
  #18  
Old 08-16-15, 09:46 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like a plan. I can keep the current one for running the compressor though? Do I just wire from input across to new capacitor and move output off old one and put on new one?
 
  #19  
Old 08-16-15, 09:56 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also the fan says 208-230 voltage. But I can't seem to find a 15 uf 208-230. Capacitor?
 
  #20  
Old 08-16-15, 10:22 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,496
Received 15 Votes on 10 Posts
The minimum voltage for these capacitors is 370VAC, although some have a 440VAC rating (higher is better). How you wire the capacitor depends if you have a 3 or 4 wire motor. If it's a 3 wire motor, you will use the new capacitor in place of the 5mfd side of the current capacitor. You will likely need to buy/make a wire to connect from the Com terminal of the old capacitor to one side of the new capacitor. The wire that is currently connected to the Fan terminal on the current capacitor gets moved to the other terminal on the new capacitor.

If you have a 4 wire motor, there will be 2 wires (often brown & brown/white) that connect to the 2 capacitor terminals. Since the dual capacitor is currently wired in place, I suspect that you have a 3 wire motor.

Note that these capacitors are non-polarized, meaning that there is no + & - terminal to worry about. And yes, you continue to use the other half (40mfd) of the current capacitor to run the compressor.
 
  #21  
Old 08-23-15, 10:48 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changed it out. Works great. Thanks for your help.
 
  #22  
Old 08-23-15, 10:50 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,496
Received 15 Votes on 10 Posts
Glad to hear that you got it fixed. Thanks for the feedback.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: