Crazy thermostat issue...help please


  #1  
Old 08-17-15, 05:28 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Crazy thermostat issue...help please

Crazy scenario here. We set our thermostat to 72. The air conditioner doesn't turn on until the thermostat says it's 69 in the house, then turns off. Then it won't turn back on until the thermostat says 75. Then it turns on and cools the house back to 75. We have had the thermostat replaced. The ac unit is about 7 years old. Any ideas as to what this might be? Our main ten guy says he's never seen this problem before. It not a heat pump system.
 
  #2  
Old 08-17-15, 05:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
What thermostat are you using there as it most likely is a stat problem.
 
  #3  
Old 08-17-15, 05:52 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let me preface my response. I just moved to Asheville and this is an apartment. I dont think the maintenance here knows that much about a/c's. That said, it's the cheapest Honeywell thermostat I've ever seen. The closest I found is TH1210DH1001 except this one does not have the EM Heat option.
 
  #4  
Old 08-17-15, 08:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
I need more information.

It's not a heat pump..... so what is it ? Gas/electric furnace with split A/C ?
When I hear apartment..... I think of a building system using hot and cold water.
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-15, 04:42 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,442
Received 18 Votes on 15 Posts
The model number is usually behind the thermostat.

Are you sure that it is a Honeywell thermostat?
If it is a different brand it may be the differential adjustment.

I would also verify that thermostat Y terminal is in use instead of Y2, and verify that a supply air register isn't blowing on the stat.

The hole behind the thermostat should also be sealed around the stat wire so that drafts in the wall do not affect operation.
 
  #6  
Old 08-18-15, 05:47 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem solved. The new thermostat was bad out of the box. New thermostat was installed today and works fine. Thanks all.
 
  #7  
Old 08-18-15, 06:28 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,687
Received 1,614 Votes on 1,486 Posts
Thanks for stopping back and letting us know the outcome.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: