problem with my AC

Reply

  #1  
Old 08-20-15, 11:58 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: egypt
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
problem with my AC

Hi all
since 1 week my window Ac is not cooling as expected..
I washed it but still the same
it start to make ice only in the central area of coils
when I touch the upper coils it is warm not even cold
check the photo

what could be the problem?
thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 08-21-15, 01:38 AM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
You probably have a low charge (leak) or dirty filter (low airflow) At the most there should be a light coat of frost on a few coils and that's when conditions are just perfect for it to happen. You should never see ice or all coils frosted.

A thorough cleaning of the filter and coils may help, but not just a simple brushing.

You're probably looking at replacement depending on age. Is that a nameplate in the bottom of the pic?

Also...you don't have to lie about your location if you have a serious question. Saudi Arabia is not Colorado.
 
  #3  
Old 08-21-15, 02:13 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: egypt
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for reply ... I registered from smartphone I found only list of states. I didn't find KSA. And it was mandatory. I fixed it through laptop..
Yes this is nameplate.
I washed it thoroughly
I have another AC same brand no ice at all. . all coils seems to be cool.
So mostly low on freon as you said.
Is there types of freon ? Like good quality types ? Or all the same?
Thanks again
 
  #4  
Old 08-21-15, 04:06 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,496
Received 15 Votes on 10 Posts
There have been different types of refrigerant used over the years. Older A/C units used R22 refrigerant, however there are environmental concerns with R22 (freon), so it's been phased out. All newer units use R410A which is better for the environment. However, apart from not knowing what refrigerant your unit uses, most (all?) windows A/C units have a completely sealed refrigerant system. Unlike a home (split) A/C system which have "ports" that allow gauges to be connected and refrigerant added, window A/C units don't (normally) have any ports by which to recharge them. They are charged at the factory and not intended to be recharged.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: