Bad Run Capacitor - Swollen

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-02-15, 08:00 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: non-US
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bad Run Capacitor - Swollen

In short A/C stopped cooling house.

Went outside, noticed unit wasnt running, just humming, no fan spinning.

Gave fan blade a push, it started spinning, went back inside, it still wasnt blowing cool air (although air was blowing of course).

Opened panel, noticed run capacitor swollen.

it is a 3 terminal Run capacitor (Fan, C, HERM) that runs both the fan and compressor (with 4 wires that go to it)

My question: is this just as simple as replacing the capacitor? Does the no cool air suggest another problem???

Thanks guys, great forum!
 

Last edited by jack_bg; 09-02-15 at 08:01 AM. Reason: edit
  #2  
Old 09-02-15, 09:22 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,498
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If still no cool air after the fan is push started, you have other problems. So you have a bad capacitor and also other issues.
 
  #3  
Old 09-02-15, 09:46 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
A swollen capacitor can cause a compressor thermal lockout. Turn off the thermostat so it will cool down by the time you get a new cap.
 
  #4  
Old 09-02-15, 10:08 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: non-US
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks to both replies!

So is there any chance then that just replacing the Cap will fix it??

I was hoping so since it also runs the compressor? If not what else can I check?
 
  #5  
Old 09-02-15, 10:26 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,498
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If the compressor was also stopped at that time, the new capacitor may fix your problem. give it a try, capacitor is cheap anyway.
 
  #6  
Old 09-03-15, 10:23 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Both the compressor and the outdoor fan must run for the system to cool ( and the indoor fan ) . Make sure the new dual capacitor is rated the same for the fan and for the compressor and at least as high of voltage as the original capacitor .

If the new cap does not fix it , holler back & be prepared to answer more questions .

God bless
Wyr
 
  #7  
Old 09-08-15, 01:37 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: non-US
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hey guys wanted to make sure I checked back in to close this thread,

RELIEF!!!!

Replacing the dual run capacitor (around 40 bucks), brought the AC back to proper running state

BIG THANKS to: clocert, Houston204 and WyrTwister

again, Great Forum!!!

One note however, found it hard to find a supplier that sold these things. Anyone else have this experience? Where is a reliable place/way to buy parts like this? Are these things just ordered on internet nowadays??

Thanks again everyone.
 
  #8  
Old 09-08-15, 05:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,323 Votes on 1,223 Posts
They can be purchased at HVAC supply houses. The problem is many supply houses don't sell to customers that aren't in the trade.
 
  #9  
Old 09-09-15, 05:01 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I first check Johnstone Supply , then W W Granger . The company I work for has accounts at both .

God bless
wyr
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: