Goodman Heat pump not running. Very detailed.

Old 10-03-15, 02:08 PM
B
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Goodman Heat pump not running. Very detailed.

Hello all,
New member here looking to get some input on an home AC issue. Just a quick bit on me. I work on medical imaging equipment, ie, generators, small refridgeration systems, low voltage, and misc stuff like that, so I'm a complete newb.

Now here's the issue. I came home a couple days ago and found the outdoor unit was not running. It's a 3yr old (was at home when we bought it) goodman GSZ130301 heat pump (heat and cooling), and a goodman indoor air handler.

The thermostat was on and showing cooling, and the air handler was pushing air. I had a similar issue at the beginning of the summer with my downstair unit. So, I check breakers and obvious stuff like thermostat off/on. I pulled the panel off the outside unit and tapped the contactor and it started running. Thinking this was the issue I went back inside to adjust the thermostat because it was hot in the house and the thermstat went crazy. It was a honeywell touchscreen, and all the segments on the display would light up, then dim continuously. At that point I thought it was the thermostat so I bought another.

I wired in the new thermstat and same as before, no outside unit. Here's where I start getting stumped.
At this point I assumed my 24v transformer or contactor. So I went outside and measured pole to pole on the low voltage side of my contactor, no volts present with a call for cooling. I go inside and measure the output of the 24v contactor and have 27v solid. I happened to have extra parts from my last AC adventure, so I swapped the contactor and 24v transformer. No change.

I should mention that I can push the plunger on the contactor and the compressor and fan will run, as long as I'm pressing it.