Dual Capacitor

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-13-15, 09:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Dual Capacitor

I am replacing an old Dual Capacitor with a new one. The old Capacitor had 3 heads (only 2 used) the new one has 3 heads as well. But, the heads are configured differently. Staight line as opposed to the new one with them in a triangle pattern. How do I know which 2 of the 3 terminals to attach to? Thanks,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-13-15, 09:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,143
Received 473 Votes on 444 Posts
The terminals on a dual capacitor are labeled C, HERM and FAN. They should be the same marking that were stamped on the old one.
 
  #3  
Old 10-13-15, 09:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for your help. One more question, Since only 2 terminals are used can I go to a single capacitor rather than a dual?
 
  #4  
Old 10-13-15, 09:21 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,143
Received 473 Votes on 444 Posts
Yes. That would mean that you now have two separate capacitors instead of the dual one.
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-15, 09:25 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I appreciate your time..Thanks. The Capacitor was leaking liquid and I figured I needed to replace it with a new one before I call a tech.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: