Any veteran techs familiar w/ GE Weathertron systems?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-18-15, 02:55 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any veteran techs familiar w/ GE Weathertron systems?

I was doing some maintenance on my air handler (cleaning coils, brushing dust off fan vanes, vacuuming debris out). It's a small 1.5T split system w/ the AH in a hall closet. I have a 08 Trane heat pump and a older, but working, Weathertron air handler. After brushing down the fan 'blades' to remove old dust, I turned the system fan on w/ a shop vac stuck in the closest register duct. I thought it might minimize the dust I was throwing into the air. I ran the fan manually for about 10 minutes.
I took a break for lunch and went back to put my panels back into place. I noticed the tstat wasn't 'hot' anymore...no digital display. My fan would not turn on. I checked breakers at condensing unit and closet disconnect...no tripped breakers.
I checked the voltage of the terminals, going in and out, inside the closet disconnect...250v. I check the little fuse in the tstat...not blown.
There is no battery other than a small 5.5v watch type battery and it's permanent, from what I can tell. I can't take a reading on it.
I tried to get a 24v reading at the tsat from the R power line but I get nothing.
Is there any fuse or reset button I don't see in the air handler bay?
It seems odd to have it fail after it worked just prior to that, and from what I read online, there is usually another cause in the system to burn out a transformer. It does have some age on it, and I don't mind changing it out, but I'd like to know what caused it to fail.
Any help much appreciated.
Tim
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-18-15, 03:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is the model # on the furnace?
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-15, 05:36 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,380
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Many of the older Trane and GE air handlers used a 1CK54 (Grainger #) fuse.

It would have a small plastic black knob on the panel or control box.
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-15, 08:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The cover of the transformer compartment had the wiring schematic, which I have attached. I see no fuses.
Since my new transformer is so much larger than the original, I need to modify the enclosure to accommodate it. I'll try to do that today.
Name:  DSCF5267.jpg
Views: 1010
Size:  49.7 KB

Model of air handler heat is BAY96X1408.
Thanks for the feedback.
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-15, 12:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,511
Received 405 Votes on 381 Posts
It would be a good idea to put an inline 3A or 4A fuse in the secondary of your transformer to protect it in the future.
 
  #6  
Old 10-19-15, 04:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, Pete
That sounds like a smart thing to do.
I just energized the system w/ the new transformer. Everything seems to be taken care of w/ that fix.
I know this is a generic question re a specific problem, but if, in the future, the inline fuse blows, things to look for would be...
1-voltage drop at disconnect?
2- shorted contactor relay?
3- bad reversing valve?

I'm just trying to connect a blown fuse to a cause, if I'm in that situation in the future.

Here is a pic of the 41 year old transformer. My Weathertron was mfgd in 1974. Safe to say, I got my money's worth out of it and then some.Name:  DSCF5283.jpg
Views: 533
Size:  42.0 KB
Tim
 
  #7  
Old 10-19-15, 04:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,511
Received 405 Votes on 381 Posts
23va is a fairly small transformer. The norm would be 40va.

#1 cause of blown transformer is the thermostat wiring from the air handler to the outside condensor.
#2 is a short anywhere in the thermostat wiring.
#3 is a shorted reversing valve or the valve wiring inside the condensor unit.
#4 is a shorted control board..... very rare.
 
  #8  
Old 10-20-15, 12:02 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your troubleshooting tips. I'll save that info for my maintenance files.
re the VA rating...the picture isn't real clear but I think the original is 35VA. I used a 40VA rated replacement unit, as you suggested. I'll run it a few days and see how it holds up. So far, so good though.
 
  #9  
Old 10-20-15, 12:44 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,511
Received 405 Votes on 381 Posts
Now that I look closer.... I see 35va. So 40 was a good choice on your part. Don't forget a safety fuse and we'll hope this case is closed.
 
  #10  
Old 10-21-15, 12:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: NC
Posts: 20
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'll get the inline fuse installed. I'll be satisfied, at that point.
Thanks for your help and this board's existence. Case closed.
Tim
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: