HVAC motor question

Old 12-08-15, 08:47 PM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
HVAC motor question

Recently the HVAC is broken at my rental apartment. I hired an HVAC contractor to fix the problem, but he cannot find the replacement motor due to the age of the system. He then suggest to replace the whole AC system (inside and out) which will cost $5800. This option is way too costly for my budget so I am looking for other solution. Here are my questions:
  1. I know it is not needed to be the exact motor, but what spec I need to know if the new motor is compatible (amp, HP, voltage, etc.)? I did some search but the opinion seems divided.
  2. If I cannot find the part, do I have other option than replacing the whole unit?
  3. If everything failed and I have to go with the nuclear option, does the price quote make sense (San Diego, CA area)? If anyone can give me a referral will be a big help.

I am totally new to this stuff please help. Thanks.

Name:  HVAC motor.jpg
Views: 430
Size:  24.5 KB

Old 12-09-15, 04:20 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Received 95 Upvotes on 88 Posts
The frame is very important but I don't see FR on your motor nomenclature.

So what are we looking at? A blower motor for and air handler or something else? The make and model might bring up a replacement.

Old 12-09-15, 06:20 AM
A
Received 92 Upvotes on 84 Posts
Most real HVAC technicians have an assortment of universal replacement motors on the truck. A lot of them aren't even authorized to give a quote for a system replacement. Also - did they check the capacitor?

There are lots of fake HVAC techs out there who are just salesmen wearing a uniform.

Call other company. One that isn't on TV or otherwise spending big bucks on advertising.

Old 12-09-15, 08:19 AM
C
Received 7 Upvotes on 7 Posts
Check this one out. (as mentioned, did you check the capacitor first ?)
Carrier Condenser Electric Motor 1/6 HP 1500 RPM 208-230V AO Smith # OCA1014

Old 12-09-15, 08:47 AM
Group Moderator