A/C fan turns but compressor won't turn over

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-15-16, 03:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C fan turns but compressor won't turn over

Need help my compressor will not turn over I just put in a new capacitor and nothing happens it seems like it wants to start but it just gives out.... Any ideas or suggestions..
Thanks😞
 

Last edited by Junior66; 03-15-16 at 04:13 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-15-16, 05:39 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Is the compressor hot? The compressor can shut off on thermal protection if you had a cooling demand present with a bad capacitor.

If the stat was off for a few hours before you replaced the cap it is probably something else.


The wire connections to the compressor might need to be inspected.
Name:  Compressor terminals.jpg
Views: 1840
Size:  45.8 KB

A wire connector may require replacement.
Name:  compressor terminal damage.jpg
Views: 1907
Size:  38.1 KB

There are kits available for this repair.



Safety glasses should be worn and power should be removed before inspecting the compressor terminals.
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-16, 05:47 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
If you have a multimeter you can take some Ohm readings from the control box end of the compressor wires to see if the wiring is okay.




This is safer since the compressor terminals have 150 to 220 psi of pressurized refrigerant and can blow out if they are damaged.

 
  #4  
Old 03-15-16, 07:15 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Posting the make and model along with the microfarad rating of the new capacitor might be of assistance.
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-16, 04:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
In this case, how would we know if the compressor has seized?
Maybe that is the issue?
 
  #6  
Old 03-26-16, 05:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,589
Received 337 Votes on 315 Posts
You won't know until you've checked everything out.
The wiring needs to be confirmed that all three connections are on the compressor.
The windings need to be checked for proper continuity.
The cap wiring needs to be double checked.

If all checks out good.... suspect a defective compressor.

As one last resort you could try a hard start kit on the compressor.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: