question on american standard/trane AC


  #1  
Old 03-26-16, 03:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
question on american standard/trane AC

the issue is to install a START-KIT or not....

searching the forums, i see quite a bit of useful info on the subject but i homing i can find some specific help before dive into into it.

having two new systems installed : AS SILVER 14 (same as trane XR14 i was told), one 2 ton the other 3 ton.

the 2 ton comes with a pre-installed start-kit; for the 3 ton, it is listed as an OPTIONAL ACCESSORY, part BAYKSKT263

q1: why does the smaller unit have a factory installed and not the 3 ton unit?

q2, curiosity aside, if the 3-ton does not come with a factory kit, should i assume it is not needed?

q3. while there is no clear answer on the need, is it a good idea to get one installed anyway? (if i can find the parts, so far no luck)

thanks
 
  #2  
Old 03-27-16, 04:19 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
If the system works properly without the kit, there's no need to install one.
 
  #3  
Old 03-27-16, 08:55 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,533
Received 5 Votes on 5 Posts
New system does not use START-kit. Are you sure it is a Start-kit ? or may be just a run capacitor.
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-16, 01:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,952 Votes on 2,664 Posts
If the system works properly without the kit, there's no need to install one.
In addition to that...... installing a kit on there now could void the manufacturers warranty.
 
  #5  
Old 03-31-16, 09:07 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
in the installation instructions, the kit is listed as an option....so if the installer ( a licensed pro) installs it per mfr instructions, why would that void the warranty?
 
  #6  
Old 03-31-16, 09:11 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: usa
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
for the 2-ton
a. the specifications state: start kit factory installed
b. there are two capacitors and and extra relay

so it is not just a run cap

in comparison, the 3-ton...
a. specs say : start kit optional
b. there is only one run cap and one contactor


for the
 
  #7  
Old 04-01-16, 04:58 PM
Grady's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Delaware, The First State
Posts: 14,401
Received 37 Votes on 35 Posts
If the kit is the factory spec'd part & installed by a Trane/Amer. Std. approved contractor, it should not affect the warranty. Still, I question why you want it if the unit starts without difficulty.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: