new unit not cooling


  #1  
Old 04-16-16, 08:30 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new unit not cooling

We just had a new 3 1/2 ton unit put in our house. And it doesn't seem to be blowing very hard. The guy that installed it is coming back Monday to make our return air vent bigger. I was just wondering if this might fix that problem, or could it be a problem with our vents in the attic? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 04-16-16, 08:56 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,537
Received 38 Votes on 34 Posts
I would verify that the thermostat Y wire connects to the furnace Y terminal along with a wire from the outdoor unit.

Bypassing the furnace Y terminal can result in a lower fan speed.( If the furnace has a Y terminal)

If you have a single speed outdoor unit and the furnace has a Y/Y2 terminal and a Y1 terminal we want to use the Y/Y2 terminal.
 
  #3  
Old 04-17-16, 06:06 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,234
Received 65 Votes on 60 Posts
You say your new unit "doesn't seem to be blowing very hard" but what problem are you experiencing?
Are you comparing "blowing" on this unit with the old one or is it not cooling properly.
How does the new unit compare in size and capacity to the old one?

Could be as simple a problem as what Houston has suggested.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: