Outside A/C unit doesn't start


  #1  
Old 05-22-16, 03:29 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Outside A/C unit doesn't start

Hello, I'm new in this forum and I need some help.
My unit (goodman) outside is trying to start and inmidiatly stop....sometimes in the fifth attempt starts sometimes never starts. Yesterday I replaced the capacitor and is doing the same...the multimeter reads 432 v.
When the unit starts is blowing cool air.
Someone to help me.
Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-16, 04:50 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,121 Upvotes on 3,701 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I had to check and make sure you were located in this country. If this is a residence you cannot get 432v to your A/C condensor. It would be different if this were a commercial building.

When the thermostat calls for cooling..... the contactor closes and the fan and compressor both start. In your case is the contactor engaging and nothing is starting or is the contactor not even closing ?

Until this problem is fixed..... don't keep starting it over and over until it starts or you could ruin the compressor.

Do you know what the contactor is ?
Is this a standard A/C condensor or do you have a heat pump system ?
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-16, 08:31 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thx pjmax....sorry, my bad 234 volts.
I saw the contactor, just close and release..the fan makes one turn and that's it.
Like this four or five times....sometimes starts sometime not.
The equipment is a goodman standard.
Do you think that is something wrong with the control panel, the thermostat?
Thanks.
 
  #4  
Old 05-23-16, 04:41 AM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,442
Received 907 Upvotes on 765 Posts
Do you think that is something wrong with the control panel, the thermostat?
If you have 240 volts at the unit, and the contactor is pulling in, then the thermostat and control is fine. Your issue is at the condenser.
 
  #5  
Old 05-23-16, 08:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,121 Upvotes on 3,701 Posts
If the contactor closes for a second or two and then opens..... it sounds to me like you are low on refrigerant.

You will need to check the thermostat wiring where it connects to the outside unit. Usually you will find wire nuts at that splice. You may have to remove an access cover to get to the splice.
You are looking for 24vac at the splice.
 
  #6  
Old 05-23-16, 08:27 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I check the contactor and reads 24 v...
The weird....for example today works fine and yesterday was a problem all day....at night works fine...
Again guys thanks for your time
 
  #7  
Old 05-23-16, 08:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,775
Received 4,121 Upvotes on 3,701 Posts
You checked at the contactor and found 24vac and the unit was working fine.

When the unit doesn't work fine.... check for 24vac at the wire nut connections that I previously mentioned. It needs to be determined if your system is failing on a refrigeration issue.

If you have the 24vac at the wire nuts but not at the contactor.... a safety sensor like low pressure is active.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: