AC furnace blower kick on and off after 5s


  #1  
Old 05-31-16, 11:45 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
AC furnace blower kick on and off after 5s

I have a goodman awb24-08d furnace.The furnace has been working fine all winter. I recently turned on the A/c for the summer but the fan kicked on for 5s then kick off.I then went to the thermostat and try to manually turn on the fan but the Auto/on switch kick the fan on for 5s then off.If I turn the heat on the fan works perfectly.I just replaced the board control and blower capacitor.I have some pics.In the pic i disconnected NO and NC wire for test.Can anyone help?
http://imgur.com/a/sumPO
 
  #2  
Old 05-31-16, 01:24 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,554
Received 59 Upvotes on 50 Posts
You may have a bad blower motor. Generally, the blower runs at a different speed for heating and cooling. It's possible that the winding for the cooling speed is bad (probably shorted).
 
  #3  
Old 05-31-16, 01:24 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
As you can see in the wiring diagram in heat mode the fan is started by the heat sequencer and in cooling mode the stat starts the blower. Do you have a voltmeter?
 
  #4  
Old 05-31-16, 02:31 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for replying
I do have voltmeter.In the cooling mode i hear the sequencer kick the fan on and then kick off.Is it not normal?.And i just replaceed new t-stat
 
  #5  
Old 05-31-16, 02:55 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Set your stat to call for cooling and put your meter on G and C on the broad. You should have 24 volts.
 
  #6  
Old 05-31-16, 09:56 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I checked the volt on C and G on the furnace control board.It showed 28v.It is a little higher than you said 24v.May i have bad sequencer?
 
  #7  
Old 06-01-16, 03:58 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,554
Received 59 Upvotes on 50 Posts
24VAC is the nominal voltage, however it often runs slightly higher than that. 28VAC is okay.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: