Goodman CPLE30-1 capacitor?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-19-16, 05:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman CPLE30-1 capacitor?

Hi,

I have a Goodman CPLE30-1. I live in northern Alabama and this unit was installed when the house was built about 13 years ago. Almost exactly one year ago the motor run capacitor went bad and had to be replaced. About one week ago the new capacitor failed and was replaced again by the same company and they are saying the compressor is probably going bad. The invoice says the tech installed a dual run 45/5 capacitor last week when he came out. From what I have been reading on other forums, this model should use a 35/5/370 capacitor and the 45/5/370 should be used on the 3 ton model (CPLE36-1). Is it a problem the tech used a 45/5 capacitor on my unit? If so, why would my unit require the 35/5 and the CPLE36 require a 45/5?

Thanks,
Bryan
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-19-16, 05:32 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 632
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I was in the same situation as you years ago. My unit was built in 1991. They kept telling me that I will have to replace my Central AC. I replaced capacitor after capacitor and it would bulge one after another. Finally, I put in a hard start kit, learned from some of the folks on this forum. You should look into a hard start kit.
 
  #3  
Old 06-19-16, 09:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,453
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, there is a problem. If the unit calls for 35/5, then you want a 35/5 installed, not a 45/5. (Different model has different specs. without checking the details, I bet CPLE36 has a different compressor.)
 
  #4  
Old 06-19-16, 09:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,947
Received 265 Votes on 248 Posts
According to the parts listing... you are correct in the 35/5 cap.

Both models in question use a Bristol compressor.

TechDocs/Goodman/Heat Pumps/CPLE Repair Parts.pdf
 
  #5  
Old 06-20-16, 09:42 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,453
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 45/5 may work, but I still think you need a 35/5 capacitor to avoid other issues. Those two compressors are different size (one is 28300btu, the other 35700btu, i.e one is 2.5 ton, the other is 3 ton). both of them on sale at Amazon around $700 each.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: