Carrier Blower Motor Problem

Old 06-29-16, 04:22 PM
G
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Carrier Blower Motor Problem

Hey fellas,

I've got a bit of a no A/C situation here on my hands. I live in Atlanta and OF COURSE the thing waits for the weather to hit 100 before breaking!

I've got a carrier heat pump. Currently, the compressor works but the blower motor will not come on. I had the local come and service the unit and they explained that the blower control module was out. Repair cost? $1,350. OUCH!

The guy was nice enough to give me the part number, HK44ER136. $340 online. I'm an electrical engineer so the guy said I could probably tackle installation myself.

Part arrived today and I swapped them out. The fan motor still will not come on. I did the service checks on the motor and all the resistances checked out in accordance with the instructions.

I rigged up an external stand so I could test the motor while it was in situ. I have voltage going into the control module and voltage coming out of the control going to the motor.

Is there anything else I can do to try to fix this guy? If I need to replace the entire motor assembly, is there a cheaper alternative than the fancy pants one I have in here?

The unit is pretty old but I'd like to keep it going until the fall.

Thanks!

E

Old 06-29-16, 05:20 PM
Received 57 Upvotes on 48 Posts
Is this an ECM or X13 motor? If so, you could try replacing it with a PSC motor. If it is an ECM motor, there is a control module on the back of the motor (what I assume you replaced), however there is also some control circuitry on the control board as well. If the motor resistance is good, and you have a new motor control module, then there's a reasonable chance that the control board (what connects to the motor control module) is bad.

Old 06-30-16, 05:49 AM
G
Hey Bob,

It is an ECM motor. I've attached the pictures of the unit.

Is there any way to jump the pins of the controller to get the unit to spin?