Ecobee on Trane Air Handler

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-28-16, 10:48 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ecobee on Trane Air Handler

Hello, today I tried to change my thermostat Trane XB-200 for an Ecobee3, the first thing I discovered is that the thermostat only use 4 wires (Red, Green, Yellow and White), apparently I don't have a "C" wire, so following the instructions, when I opened the unit I discovered that I don't have a "controller board", the only thing I have is a connector with 6 wires labeled as following:

- Blue wire labeled as "BL"
- Red wire labeled as "RD"
- Green wire labeled as "GR"
- White wire labeled as "1 1"
- White wire labeled as "2 2" [The "1 1" and "2 2" are together right now]
- White wire labeled as "3 3"

The connector looks exactly like this one. I'll take pictures from my unit tomorrow.



The model of the Air Handler is: 2TEC3F42A1000AA and I haven't been able to find anything about that model.

As far as I had understood the Blue wire in my case is the "Common" or "C" cable, the RED cable complete the 24VAC, the green is the FAN, and the whites should be the "phases" for the heater.

I connected the wires matching the letters, the Ecobee turned on and I was able to complete the setup process but the fan/ac didn't turn on.

at this moment I don't know what to do lol, so if somebody could help me, I'll be really grateful. Thank you!

PS: Apparently I posted this thread in the wrong section :-/ , sorry.
 

Last edited by belcboo; 07-28-16 at 11:09 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-28-16, 11:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,537
Received 1,036 Votes on 960 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

When you took the wiring off the Trane stat..... what color wires were on what terminals ??

If you only have a four wire cable then you can't get a C wire to your stat. You'll need five
wires.

What do you have there.... A/C with electric heat or a heat pump system with electric heat ?
 
  #3  
Old 07-29-16, 10:27 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hello and sorry for delay, I can't get pics from my system right now but I can answer some of your questions:

When you took the wiring off the Trane stat..... what color wires were on what terminals ??
This is the wiring that I have in my stat at this moment:



and I connected the wires on my ecobee following the letters on that plate. The Ecobee turned on but the AC or the fan didn't start even when according to the Ecobee was running

I have two things that I'll to confirm tomorrow (If I turn off the AC right now my wife will kill me) :

1. If the blue wire in that plate is connected to a Yellow wire in my system.

2. if the blue wire of my 6 wire connector is being used, because according at what I've read thats the "C" cable on my system. And that's the answer to your second question, I can't find the "C" cable at this moment because the air handlers doesn't have a controller board :-/


What do you have there.... A/C with electric heat or a heat pump system with electric heat ?
Is an Air Handler with electric heater of 10K size, is exactly this one:



And this are some spec's:




And I know that I have to confirm a couple of things but any help is welcomed LOL.

Thank you.

PS: This is the 6 wire connector that I have on my system:

 
  #4  
Old 07-29-16, 11:13 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
It looks like you have a splice in the stat wire.
Cooling is blue at the stat but it is yellow at the air handler.

The stat wire blue is twisted around the wiring at the air handler and unused.

Name:  trane wires.JPG
Views: 2405
Size:  44.4 KB
 
  #5  
Old 07-30-16, 12:27 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you so much!!, My system is working now!!

That wasn't my picture, but the connector is the same as my system, so I follow the example and all was almost the same, the only thing I was needing is to use one of the spare wires to make a bridge between the Blue wire and C.

I have some pictures, I'll update the post later just in case someone has the same issue.

Thank you so so much again!!.
 
  #6  
Old 07-30-16, 12:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,537
Received 1,036 Votes on 960 Posts
PS: This is the 6 wire connector that I have on my system:
Confusing. Sounds like your connector.

Now you know..... post only your own pictures.
 
  #7  
Old 07-31-16, 11:06 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
[Solved] Ecobee and Trane Air Handler

Actually my connector is exactly like that one.



And thanks to that image I was able to find why the Ecobee wasn't working even when it turned on.

Thank you again!.
 
  #8  
Old 07-31-16, 11:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,537
Received 1,036 Votes on 960 Posts
We know exactly what the connector looks like. We aren't looking at that. We are looking at your wiring attached to that plug.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: