A/C condensor fan doesnt work and no cool air


  #1  
Old 08-05-16, 08:44 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
A/C condensor fan doesnt work and no cool air

Hi All,

I was trying to use the old thread but it wouldnt let me comment there ...

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ai...running.html#b

My AC was not blowing cold air. So checking outside, saw the fan atop the condensor box not moving. I tried this morning to manually move the fan blades and it did start moving.. BUT.. not cold air.


I was trying to get an idea of costs involved in changing the caps and adding freon? (the link above)

So looks like a scenario of bad capacitor and low freon in Texas

Thanks for your feedbacks
 
  #2  
Old 08-05-16, 08:53 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,646
Received 82 Upvotes on 72 Posts
Capacitors are usually
 
  #3  
Old 08-05-16, 08:59 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,754
Received 4,118 Upvotes on 3,698 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

There have been hundreds of threads on the same exact problem since that 2006 thread.

You pushed the fan blades.... did they start turning faster on their own or only as fast as you pushed them. Usually if you have a capacitor problem you'll hear humming coming from the fan or compressor as they try to start.

Do you know if the contactor is being closed ? That's a good place to start.
A meter may be needed to check voltages.

I would start by turning the power off the condensor unit and removing the wiring cover. That's where the caps would be as well as the contactor.
 
  #4  
Old 08-05-16, 09:13 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The fan runs as fast as it would when it starts on it own when i manually pushed it a couple of times as shown in some of the videos. I was hoping that was the problem which was capacitor related. But temp not changing meant something more.
Maybe the attic unit related?

what do you mean by "Do you know if the contactor is being closed ?" Not that AC stuff savvy
 
  #5  
Old 08-05-16, 09:25 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Bob: I do not know the refrigerant type. Its a 15 yr old TRANE XE 1200, 3 TON i believe (TTP036D100AC)
 
  #6  
Old 08-05-16, 09:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,754
Received 4,118 Upvotes on 3,698 Posts
When the thermostat calls for cooling..... the contactor inside the condensor closes and starts the fan and the compressor. Since your fan has a problem the compressor is probably coming on and is being shut down on overload (high heat). This is not good for the compressor.

You need to address the fan issue first. Since the fans runs when you push it.... the contactor would appear to be closed and the capacitor is bad. Start there.

That is not a correct model number you posted. (it was written incorrectly on the inspection report)
 
  #7  
Old 08-05-16, 09:40 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Trane - Home Comfort Systems
XE 1200 AIR CONDITIONER

Model Nominal
Tons Height
(in.) Width
(in.) Depth
(in.)
TTP018C 1.5 29 33 29
TTP024C 2 33 33 29
TTP030D 2.5 41 33 29
TTP036D 3 41 33 29
TTP042D 3.5 37 39 35
TTP048D 4 37 39 35
TTP060E 5 37 39 35
 
  #8  
Old 08-05-16, 09:43 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
PJ:
If fan starts if I manually start it, wont the problem of overload and overheat be resolved letting the compressor stay on?
 
  #9  
Old 08-06-16, 11:50 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 6
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Ok Cap definitely bad.. the top has bulged out. Have to wait till Monday to get one. Everything closed!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: