Carrier A/C not cooling

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-05-16, 09:59 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Carrier A/C not cooling

Hi, I have a Carrier A/C model 24ABB324W310 which was installed new in 2012. The unit comes on when called for but, the air is not cooling. I visually checked the capacitor which appears to be ok without being puffed up. I believe the A/C wouldn't come on if the capacitor was bad. Anyone have any suggestions for further troubleshooting? Any help would be most appreciated. Thanks, Ray
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-05-16, 10:22 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,520
Received 20 Votes on 15 Posts
You need to go outside and check the outside unit (compressor/condenser) to see if it's running. My guess is that it's not, which is why it's not cooling. Since you said you visually checked the capacitor, you must have removed the cover(s) from the unit. Inside, you'll see the contactor, which is a relay. It's rectangular in shape and usually has 2 heavy wires attached at each end and thinner wires attached to contacts on the sides of the contactor. With the power to the outside unit turned on, take a piece of wood and push in on the top of the contactor. There may be a "button" making it easy to push the contacts down. This will close the contacts. If the outside unit turns on, you're likely losing the 24VAC control signal that tells the contactor to turn on. To proceed further, it will be very helpful if you have a multimeter and know how to use it.
 
  #3  
Old 09-05-16, 02:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply....... Yes, there is a button in the center. I pushed the button and it turned on while holding it in. I also viewed the relay when I turned it on by using the thermostat. The A/C came on and the button was automatically pushed in. Is this the correct operation of the relay? Thanks again for your help. Ray
 
  #4  
Old 09-05-16, 02:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,007
Received 834 Votes on 781 Posts
Yes... the thermostat holds the contactor in.

So now the contactor is in..... is the A/C working ?
If no.... is the fan in the condensor running ?
Is the compressor running ? Feel the large copper line exiting the unit.... is it cold ?
 
  #5  
Old 09-05-16, 04:07 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you for the help.......
So now the contactor is in..... is the A/C working ?
The A/C unit is on but, no cold air.
If no.... is the fan in the condensor running ?
The large fan is running on the A/C unit.
Is the compressor running ? Feel the large copper line exiting the unit.... is it cold ?
No

Thanks again for helping me out. Ray
 
  #6  
Old 09-05-16, 04:18 PM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,520
Received 20 Votes on 15 Posts
If the compressor and condenser fan are both running, but the large copper line isn't cold, it would appear that the system is very low on refrigerant. If that's the case, you have a leak somewhere in the system. The leak will need to be repaired before more refrigerant is added, otherwise it will leak out again. It's time to call a qualified A/C technician.
 
  #7  
Old 09-05-16, 04:29 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a shame........ This unit was installed new in June of 2012. As for warranty, the compressor has a 10 years, not including labor. Thanks, Ray
 
  #8  
Old 09-05-16, 06:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 57,007
Received 834 Votes on 781 Posts
Actually..... if it was low on refrigerant the fan and the compressor would both be not running.

It sounds like the fan is running but the compressor is not. That could possibly be a capacitor issue.
 
  #9  
Old 09-05-16, 07:12 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,426
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
Hi Ray,

Does it sound to you like the compressor is running as well as the outdoor fan motor?

I doubt that an entry level condenser like that 13 SEER Carrier would have a low pressure switch. It could be very low on refrigerant but you would usually see oil somewhere if a large leak suddenly occurred and you often see ice if the leak is not extreme. Water in the pan under the evaporator ( indoor) coil might also be a sign that you lost refrigerant.



Capacitors often don't look very swollen when they fail.
I still knew at a glance that the capacitor on the right would measure 0 microfarad when I removed the service panel.

 
  #10  
Old 09-06-16, 04:06 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Actually it sounds like just the fan...... hard to tell. I cleaned the A/C unit coils and inside area, everything was bone dry. There is a slight hum sound that lasts for about 5 seconds and repeats itself approx. every 3 minutes or so. I have a cheap digital multimeter in which I have never used. Would this slight hum be caused by the capacitor trying to tell the clmpressor to come on? I sincerely appreciate your help. Thank you, Ray
 
  #11  
Old 09-06-16, 04:34 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,520
Received 20 Votes on 15 Posts
It's possible that the compressor capacitor is bad. I thought you said that both the compressor and condenser fan were running. If you put your hand on the compressor, you should be able to "feel" if it's running. Capacitors are cheap enough that it's worth replacing the capacitor to see if that solves the problem. If your unit uses a dual capacitor, the compressor side will be the larger value (usually in the range of 40-50 mfd).
 
  #12  
Old 09-06-16, 06:04 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A HUGE THANK YOU!! Just got back and installed it. Working like a charm! I could see that the bottom was slightly puffed out once I removed it. I did test it also which showed it was defective. You hit the nail on the head..... $20.00. Again, THANK YOU for all your help and thanks to all of you that pitched in as well! Ray
 
  #13  
Old 09-06-16, 07:08 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,520
Received 20 Votes on 15 Posts
Ray, thanks for letting us know that you got it fixed. Good job!!
 
  #14  
Old 09-06-16, 10:30 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 45
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank You...... You folks are awesome!!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: