Goodman condensor re-started several times in a row

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-07-16, 07:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 56
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman condensor re-started several times in a row

I was working on the lawn next to my 5 yr old goodman HVAC. I heard the compressor started to work, and stopped after 15 seconds. Restarted again on its own, stopped after 15 sec. I ran inside and checked thermostat. It was 78 RT, and my setting was at 78. It showed running on the screen. I lowered the setting to 76. Went outside, it was running fine. Cooling the house ok.

I tried to duplicate the problem late today, but failed.

Anyone has suggestion what could go wrong? Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-07-16, 07:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,534
Received 408 Votes on 384 Posts
When the thermostat is in a call for cooling the compressor should not cycle. Normally most stats have a delay built in to them to keep the condensor from short cycling.

If it's a battery operated stat.... you might try replacing the batteries.

If I had to hazard a guess I'd say you are low on refrigerant and the low pressure safety sensor is disconnecting the compressor for protection.
 
  #3  
Old 09-08-16, 05:32 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,380
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Does your system seem to cool your house okay?
A digital thermometer at the air intake and supply register nearest to the furnace may help determine if you are low on refrigerant.

What is the make and model of your thermostat?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: