Bad/Clogged TXV Valve?

Old 10-06-16, 02:20 PM
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Bad/Clogged TXV Valve?

So I have been chasing poor cooling for the last 2 years in a brand new home and think I found what is going on but could use some validation before I spend any more time or money. The short story is a 1800 sq ft house with a Trane XV95 variable speed furnace and a XB13 1.5 ton single stage condenser. I could never get the temp below 71 degrees no matter what I did. The RH was always around 55%. The builder has been no help and the HVAC installer tells us my wife cooks too much in the house. I brought in another contractor who upgraded us to a XR17 2 ton unit which helps but 70 degrees and 50% RH is still about the best I can do. The unit will run for long periods so I would think my RH would be lower.

This week, I come across a Trane Tech bulletin from 10/2014 (two months after we bought the house) with an issue of TXV valves being clogged due to debris in the and causing systems to not working correctly. This bulletin included my condenser by both model and serial number. Is it possible that the TXV Valve could be causing such an issue? My last measurement was 70 degrees for return are and 58 degrees for supply. All measurements on the system are OK according to the Tech. My neighbors who built a year later with a similar system can keep the house at 68 without an issue (with a 2 ton unit).

Any thoughts would be helpful. Any I expecting too much?

Sponsored Links
Old 10-07-16, 08:14 AM
Has anyone done a load calculation on your house?

Old 10-08-16, 07:58 AM
With delta-T at 12 (70-58) you have a problem, whether it is caused by bad TXV or not, you need to call an AC tech to fix it. ( I am sure not all measurements are OK, call a different tech, tell him you want Delta-T at around 16-18)

Old 10-08-16, 11:26 AM
Received 25 Votes on 19 Posts