Rheem furnace: blower won't stop running

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-10-16, 10:23 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Rheem furnace: blower won't stop running

Hi DIY'ers! I've been doing everything I can to keep this 20 years old central air/ furnace unit running in our condo. The unit has a slow Freon leak and we've gotta load a pound in at the start of every summer.

This week, the blower decided it's not going to turn off anymore. It keeps running, no matter what setting the thermostat is on (Auto, On, Off, Air, Heat). The only way to turn it off is to cut the power using the switch on the side of the unit. I've read some similar threads on this site but I'm still not sure what to do next.

I pulled the green wire behind the thermostat as some have instructed and the blower continued to run, so that rules out the thermostat, right? That's leading me to believe that this might be related to a busted "blower relay" (as I've also read about).

I took the cover off of the electrical box inside the blower unit, but even using the wiring diagram on the cover, I'm unable to identify the blower relay. I've included some images below that might help you guys (or not!). I may not even be looking in the right place... Total bozo when it comes to this.

HVAC is completely foreign to me so anything you could do to help me avoid a huge repair cost would be amazing!

Name:  image1.jpg
Views: 545
Size:  51.4 KB

Name:  image2.jpg
Views: 667
Size:  50.7 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-10-16, 10:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,658
Likes Received: 113
We need the full model number for that furnace. It'll be on an ID tag near the burner on the side wall.

That board may be a blower timer board and could be bad OR you could have an open safety sensor.

Have you tried heat..... is that working ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-18-16, 06:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Hi, yes, I've tried it even with the heat on and the blower still does not shut off. I'll have to take a look at the furnace when I get home so I can provide the full model number.

An HVAC guy that we know had also suggested that it might be the board, but we're a little cynical because it seems like he's always pushing us to just replace the whole system (and we don't have that kind of money).
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-16, 08:06 AM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,443
Your HVAC guy may be right this time. Sounds like a board issue.
 
  #5  
Old 10-19-16, 09:35 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,658
Likes Received: 113
Since you tried the furnace and it works normally.... the problem will be the control board.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes