Trane xr80 - tud100c948k0 - no heat, fan on - sometimes

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-09-16, 05:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: INDIA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Trane xr80 - tud100c948k0 - no heat, fan on - sometimes

I have xr80 - tud100c948k0. Since last few days , sometimes, at night time (only) heating switches off but blower won't stop. This remains same even after I switch off and on unit from thermostat. Then what I do is - goto basement and manually take xr80 cover off, wait for a min or so and put it back. Within few mins unit will start and heat will on. This issue won't happen consistently. So far it happened only at night time almost everyday in last 3 days. Ignitior seems good. I cleaned heat sensor using sand paper and wire brush and doesn't looks like an issue. Filter is clean too.

Not sure if this is related to relay or complete control circuit.

Any help will be appreciated.

Also where can I find replacement parts locally. Any good HVAC store chain ?
I would prefer to solve this issue asap as temperature has gone down in scotch plains, New Jersey .

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-09-16, 08:04 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,551
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
So far... what you are describing is an overheating problem. Make sure filter(s) are clean.
Check registers and returns.

There should be a sight glass in the blower door where you can look in and see the red trouble LED on the control board. The flashes will tell you the fault/problem.
More info on back of blower door.
 
  #3  
Old 12-09-16, 08:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: INDIA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for reply. Red light is slow blink which is normal operation. Filter is clean too. Cleaned y'day one more time and still issue happened again today.

Can you let me know how to check registers please ?
 
  #4  
Old 12-09-16, 10:29 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just make sure all the vents are opened and not covered by anything.
 
  #5  
Old 12-09-16, 10:42 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,551
Received 331 Votes on 309 Posts
A slow blink is normal. It means the system is not calling for heat.
Try turning the thermostat up a few degrees.
 
  #6  
Old 12-10-16, 12:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: INDIA
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Finally , noted 4 flashes when it exactly happened.

Thanks everyone for reply. Tonight it happened again and I noted 4 flashes when it happened exactly. This time though, unit is not starting heat at all.
Fault error sheet on my furnace shows 4 flashes means "open high limit device".
It seems to me - I need to replace the high limit device . Any other thoughts ?

Name:  1.jpg
Views: 835
Size:  22.9 KB

Name:  2.jpg
Views: 751
Size:  25.6 KB
 
  #7  
Old 12-10-16, 01:57 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
It is more likely that poor airflow is causing that limit to trip than you have a faulty limit.

If you also have air conditioning inspect both side of the evaporator coil




A weak run capacitor or a plugged air filter can also trip a limit.

An undersized return air intake coupled with a highly restrictive 3M air filter can trip that limit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: