Air Handler Fan not running

Old 01-28-17, 06:27 PM
T
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wink Air Handler Fan not running

Hello all. This is my first time actually posting on a DIY forum (I usually can fix issues by googling and reading previous conversations) so I did my best to be thorough here.

Situation:

A few days ago we realized our A/C was not running. Upon checking we found that the outside condenser was frozen over and the coils in the air handler inside were frozen over as well. We switched the thermostat to off and left AC for 24 hours to defrost and dry.

The next day we set the thermostat to cool and auto. The outside condenser kicked on, but inside the blower did not turn on. We switched the thermostat to Off with fan set to On but the blower still did not turn on. We left it set to on for 3 minutes just in case there was a delay but nothing changed.

I can hear the usual low hum coming from the blower unit and the fan spins if I tap it.

Unit Info:

Trane GAM5B0B36M31SBA

System Info: https://www.trane.com/content/dam/Tr...4_02012014.pdf

Install Guide: http://trane.americanstandardca.com/...NSTALACION.pdf

Wiring Diagram:
Name:  wiring_diagram.jpg
Views: 4942
Size:  26.5 KB

Motor in Cabinet so you can see all of the wiring:
Name:  motor_cabinet.jpg
Views: 3450
Size:  42.5 KB

Troubleshooting Completed:

-checked that no electrical panels or switches are turned to off
-turned off power at the breaker for a few minutes then turned it back on
-checked that there is no ice anywhere
-checked that all filters are clean (they were installed on 1/7)
-checked if A/C intake vents are clean. There is a slight layer of dust on the surface but nothing significant
-checked that A/C coils and fins are clean.
-checked that drain pan is empty and float switch is down
-checked that all door panels on air handler were closed correctly.
-checked that thermostat batteries are good