Not sure our AC needs repair

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-15-17, 05:02 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Not sure our AC needs repair

Hi all,

We had a bad rainy day one day this last winter, and our ac / heating unit is outside. It tripped the switch at the fuse box. We turned it back on and went about our business. A couple days later my husband noticed that the air coming from the vents did not feel warm - it felt more like room temperature.

We continued to use it for the rest of the winter, and imo it heated the condo just fine.

Ok, now it's warming up, and he won't let me even turn on the ac - he thinks we have to run it on fan only. He thinks turning on the ac will further damage it.

I've turned it on for short periods when he's not there, and it does not seem to be having serious problems. I'm not sure either that it cools enough, but it seems to operate ok to me. It does seem to cool down a little more than just running the fan. I'm getting a digital room thermometer soon.

Does it sound like it's safe to at least run it? Neither of us know that much about air conditioning.

Thanks for your thoughts.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-15-17, 06:26 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
our ac / heating unit is outside
Is this a mobile home? If not what you probably have is the condenser outside and an air handler in the attic. Is this a heat pump or do you have a furnace in the attic? Please provide the make and model number of your equipment.
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-17, 06:33 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
It sounds like since the heat and A/C is outside that it's a packaged unit..... and most likely on the roof.
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-17, 07:19 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's not a mobile home, we have a condo. We don't have an attic.
I'll go get the model info.
 
  #5  
Old 03-15-17, 07:38 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
So a package unit as guessed by Pete? Do you own the condo or do you rent?
 
  #6  
Old 03-15-17, 08:48 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, that is what I said, a package unit, and it is outside!

We own it, why do you ask? What does that have to do with
my repair question? really.....
 
  #7  
Old 03-15-17, 09:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
that is what I said, a package unit
Didn't see that.
it is outside
So not on the roof but on the ground where it is easily accessible?
We own it, why do you ask?
Because renters shouldn't be doing their own repairs.
 
  #8  
Old 03-15-17, 09:11 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I said: "our ac / heating unit is outside."

As I said, we own it, how is that your business?
Just tell me you can't answer the question, and I'll go
somewhere else.

Also if it was on the roof, I would say it is on the roof!
 
  #9  
Old 03-15-17, 09:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
When you put the unit into A/C mode..... the blower will come on for the inside air.
You've confirmed that as working but just running that by itself won't accomplish anything.

What you need to do is when unit is in A/C mode..... confirm that the fan that is visible on the top of the unit is running.

The fan and compressor may be delayed up to 5 minutes before they come on.
 
  #10  
Old 03-15-17, 09:34 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: usa
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you PJMax. I will do that. I was just wondering if turning the ac on will be safe. I know it's a dumb beginner question, but my husband is a stroke survivor and sometimes comes up with weird ideas. I'm trying to assure him that it's fine, and also determine if we really need a repair.

To ray2047: I'm going to wait to go outside to check the info of the unit, because:the local neighborhood drug dealers are currently holding a satanic ritual around it. They should be done doing their thing by morning, and that is when I'll go outside to look.
 
  #11  
Old 03-15-17, 09:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
Normally the unit is protected from damage by running it. If you were getting heat from it over the winter then it's probably a natural gas furnace.

Running the unit in A/C shouldn't hurt it but if the A/C section has a problem you won't get any cold air. It will just circulate room temperature air.
 
  #12  
Old 03-15-17, 11:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,583
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Tunguska, I apologize I upset you but the unit you describe is not what I would expect to see. I'm a bit baffled by what you have and curious. I'm thinking maybe a through the wall but I wouldn't call that outside even though it does protrude through the wall. I was just trying to gather info for those more familiar with heating and air.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: