Goodman GMH8 Furnace- 6 blinking lights!

Old 05-15-17, 07:28 AM
P
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Goodman GMH8 Furnace- 6 blinking lights!

Hi All,

House fan runs, no AC. I'm a novice and don't know anything.

Induction blower starts up, looks good/sounds good, and then shuts down.
6 flashes on board immediately on turning on the furnace.

air inlet grey tubing, and into induction blower, has no blockage since i would have pushed anything out with paper clip and blowing through it.

Wiring together the two yellow leads didn't do anything, i guess it wouldn't.

Impossible i think to have the flue blocked, it goes straight to ceiling.

Possible causes? Possible replacements according to manual include a 3A automotive fuse somewhere i'm not seeing, wiring problem somewhere (couldn't find anything wrong), induction draft blower replacement.

I have replaced the rollout limit before, probably didnt need to, last time it seemed like a piece of dust was caught in the inlet to induction motor..

Suggestions?

Name:  20170515_080137.jpg
Views: 9240
Size:  46.0 KBName:  20170515_075614.jpg
Views: 10547
Size:  42.5 KB

Old 05-15-17, 08:38 AM
Received 27 Votes on 22 Posts
The items that you mentioned that you checked (inducer, vacuum switch, etc.) are all related to heating (required to be operational for heat). For A/C, the only part of the furnace that's used is the blower. All the A/C "work" is done by the outside unit (compressor, condenser, and condenser fan). The evaporator coil which is mounted inside the furnace plenum gets cold when the A/C is running, and the blower pushes air past it, exchanging heat from inside the house and sending it outside where it's dissipated into the outside air by the condenser & fan.

The 3A fuse is likely good because otherwise the blower motor wouldn't come on. The 3A fuse is used to protect the 24VAC transformer in case of a short. The 24VAC goes to the thermostat and is used to control the blower and outside A/C unit.