Contactor Replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-27-17, 01:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Contactor Replacement

Need to get the system up and running while we decide how to replace it.

Looks like the contactor need replacement, very pitted/burnt and compressor wouldn't cycle on. (Also dead crickets/spider etc involved). I think we had them replaced 8-10 years ago.

The part # is 3100-15q1942cd....looking online there are only a very few place that carried them. Looks like they might be out of production. Is there an equivalent/update contactor that I can use? System is going on 20 years.

Addt info...contact rating per pole @240v....

FLA = 40
LRA = 240
RES = 50

Also has the number C147094P06 which I am not sure what it is (serial no?)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-27-17, 02:21 PM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Contactor are genetic, just make sure its at least 30 amps and a 24 volt coil. Try Home depot, they will have one.
 
  #3  
Old 05-27-17, 08:00 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
  #4  
Old 05-27-17, 09:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Packard for the win!

Thanks to both of you...
 
  #5  
Old 06-07-17, 07:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Quick followup. Replaced the contactor. The old one had screws where the spade looking connectors (with hole) that provided power to the compressor attached.

The new one has set screws type. I cut the old connectors off, stripped/twisted the wire, inserted it into the set screw and screwed down. The connection is secure (now).

The set screw/clamp looks like it would be better for a solid core wire rather than the stranded wire that is there. I can buy some blades and install them and clip them onto one of the prongs on the side of the contactor (plenty of spaces).

Do I need to worry about this? Unsure if a flat bottom screw clamping down onto stranded wire is legit. Thanks.
 
  #6  
Old 06-07-17, 09:49 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,713
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Unsure if a flat bottom screw clamping down onto stranded wire is legit.
Yes... it is ok. It helps to twist the strands as tight as possible.
 
  #7  
Old 06-07-17, 09:52 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
The Lugs are better. I usually only cut the small branches of the Y connector and leave the tough looking crimp but the way that you did it is fine.
 
  #8  
Old 11-18-17, 11:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 347
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
Meant to post this a couple of months ago. So after a few month in the middle of summer AC stopped cooling. Went out to take a look and this is what I found.

Name:  c1.jpg
Views: 132
Size:  52.8 KB

Name:  c2.jpg
Views: 158
Size:  54.0 KB

The wire had burnt through either through increased resistance or maybe a free strand touching something it shouldn't.

Apparently my twisting of the wire wasn't good enough. I guess I was lucky nothing worse happened.

Went out and bought the correct terminals. Ordered up the CN (posted below just in the slim case it was the Packard)

Attached them, AC worked for the rest of the summer.

I guess moral is unless your realy realy good, reattach the terminals. Don't scrunch the wire.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 11-19-17 at 12:51 AM. Reason: cropped/reoriented pictures
  #9  
Old 11-19-17, 12:52 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,713
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
Crispy fried contactor.
 
  #10  
Old 11-19-17, 09:54 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
The 40 amp lugs are usually much better than the 30 amp screws. I would inspect the compressor terminal connections.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: