wiring the colored wires to control board


  #1  
Old 06-13-17, 09:33 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiring the colored wires to control board

Hello, last winter my control board was replaced. Ever since then my fan is always slowly blowing even when the heat was off and I couldn't turn on my ac. Today I found that yellow and green wires weren't connected. SO I connected both. I found that if I connect both nothing happens. If I connect just the yellow to Y where there is also a white wire then the ac kicks on outside but blows slowly. How can I fix this?
Name:  20fb0uh.jpg
Views: 197
Size:  24.9 KB
 
  #2  
Old 06-13-17, 10:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If you paid to have that board replaced you should get the tech back. That was an incomplete job. The fan should not have been blowing continuously at low speed.

For A/C to operate normal speed.... the green needs to be connected to G.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-17, 10:38 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It was put in by family. Do you know why when Green is connected the acfan wont kick on? With green connected I dont hear a click at my thermostat..
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-17, 11:21 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,101
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can you post a pic of the wires at the stat?
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-17, 11:28 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,425
Received 17 Votes on 14 Posts
The furnace model number might also be of assistance as well as a control board picture from further back.
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-17, 11:37 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes! Heres what I've got Name:  0613171428-747x1328.jpg
Views: 166
Size:  18.1 KB
 
  #7  
Old 06-13-17, 11:42 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  0613171438-747x1328.jpg
Views: 180
Size:  35.3 KBName:  0613171439-1328x747.jpg
Views: 155
Size:  30.5 KBName:  0613171110b-2124x1195.jpg
Views: 247
Size:  26.5 KB
Im not sure if this is the model or not
 
  #8  
Old 06-13-17, 12:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
Confirm the terminal labeling for us.

Name:  0613171428-747x1328.jpg
Views: 122
Size:  20.4 KB

Manual for your oil fired furnace. Page 8 discusses a constant blower switch.
manualslib/manual/747487/Bryant-361aan.html

This furnace is equipped with a constant low-speed blower option. Whenever room thermostat is not calling for heating or cooling, blower runs on low speed in order to provide air circulation. If constant blower option is not desired, the rocker switch on side of control box may be used to turn off constant speed.
 
  #9  
Old 06-13-17, 12:30 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Those labels are indeed all correct
 
  #10  
Old 06-13-17, 12:34 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Reading through page 8 I do see that the blower is able to change speeds but it doesn't say how to. Currently I'm pretty sure it's stuck on low
 
  #11  
Old 06-13-17, 12:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
Yes.... that low speed is a changeable option. I noted that.

The main blower speed is activated when power is applied to the G terminal.


Since you had "someone" change the stat..... my guess is that is was never programmed for system type.

We can walk you thru it but would need the stat model.
 
  #12  
Old 06-13-17, 12:46 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It seems to be a hunter 44100a. How can I change the low speed to high?
 
  #13  
Old 06-13-17, 01:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,591
Received 1,601 Votes on 1,475 Posts
Ok. Not a programming issue. The fan program switch only controls heat mode.

Try a short piece of wire. Any size. Short from R to G. See if that turns blower on normal speed.

Did you find some kind of switch that controlled the "always on" low speed ?
Some type of rocker or toggle switch.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: