wiring the colored wires to control board

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-13-17, 09:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
wiring the colored wires to control board

Hello, last winter my control board was replaced. Ever since then my fan is always slowly blowing even when the heat was off and I couldn't turn on my ac. Today I found that yellow and green wires weren't connected. SO I connected both. I found that if I connect both nothing happens. If I connect just the yellow to Y where there is also a white wire then the ac kicks on outside but blows slowly. How can I fix this?
Name:  20fb0uh.jpg
Views: 128
Size:  24.9 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-13-17, 10:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 213
Welcome to the forums.

If you paid to have that board replaced you should get the tech back. That was an incomplete job. The fan should not have been blowing continuously at low speed.

For A/C to operate normal speed.... the green needs to be connected to G.
 
  #3  
Old 06-13-17, 10:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
It was put in by family. Do you know why when Green is connected the acfan wont kick on? With green connected I dont hear a click at my thermostat..
 
  #4  
Old 06-13-17, 11:21 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 2,104
Can you post a pic of the wires at the stat?
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-17, 11:28 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,370
Upvotes Received: 10
The furnace model number might also be of assistance as well as a control board picture from further back.
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-17, 11:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
yes! Heres what I've got Name:  0613171428-747x1328.jpg
Views: 112
Size:  18.1 KB
 
  #7  
Old 06-13-17, 11:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Name:  0613171438-747x1328.jpg
Views: 113
Size:  35.3 KBName:  0613171439-1328x747.jpg
Views: 94
Size:  30.5 KBName:  0613171110b-2124x1195.jpg
Views: 140
Size:  26.5 KB
Im not sure if this is the model or not
 
  #8  
Old 06-13-17, 12:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 213
Confirm the terminal labeling for us.

Name:  0613171428-747x1328.jpg
Views: 65
Size:  20.4 KB

Manual for your oil fired furnace. Page 8 discusses a constant blower switch.
manualslib/manual/747487/Bryant-361aan.html

This furnace is equipped with a constant low-speed blower option. Whenever room thermostat is not calling for heating or cooling, blower runs on low speed in order to provide air circulation. If constant blower option is not desired, the rocker switch on side of control box may be used to turn off constant speed.
 
  #9  
Old 06-13-17, 12:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Those labels are indeed all correct
 
  #10  
Old 06-13-17, 12:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
Reading through page 8 I do see that the blower is able to change speeds but it doesn't say how to. Currently I'm pretty sure it's stuck on low
 
  #11  
Old 06-13-17, 12:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 213
Yes.... that low speed is a changeable option. I noted that.

The main blower speed is activated when power is applied to the G terminal.


Since you had "someone" change the stat..... my guess is that is was never programmed for system type.

We can walk you thru it but would need the stat model.
 
  #12  
Old 06-13-17, 12:46 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 7
It seems to be a hunter 44100a. How can I change the low speed to high?
 
  #13  
Old 06-13-17, 01:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,425
Upvotes Received: 213
Ok. Not a programming issue. The fan program switch only controls heat mode.

Try a short piece of wire. Any size. Short from R to G. See if that turns blower on normal speed.

Did you find some kind of switch that controlled the "always on" low speed ?
Some type of rocker or toggle switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes