Lineset age


  #1  
Old 08-17-17, 03:41 AM
jjrbus's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 325
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Lineset age

I am researching for a new AC system in a 1350 Sq foot house in SW Florida. Mine is still working so I have a bit of time and 1000's of questions. Some I can answer on the net, some I have to ask.

I am assuming my AC 3/4" line set for a 2 1/2 ton unit is the original from when houses is built in in 1985 making it 32 years old. I could be wrong. Do line sets wear out? The black foam insulation on it seems to be in good condition except where it is not covered outside to the condenser, about 2 feet. Should entire line set be replaced?

I would like to move condenser about 10 feet which would require a longer line. Can lines be run horizontally along wall. I have never seen any horizontal only vertical. Is there a limit or downside to longer line set, I will be about 40 feet
Jim
 
  #2  
Old 08-17-17, 11:48 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,077
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
Line sets don't wear out. IF the solder is in good shape and there are NO leaks.... it can be re-used. Many times the line sets aren't easy to replace and are reused. If it's an easy replacement... have them changed. 40' in length is ok.

Refrigerant lines can be run horizontal. The reason you don't see this much is that horizontal lines are hard to protect. They need to be well fastened and protected from any type of impact.
 
  #3  
Old 08-18-17, 04:23 AM
airman.1994's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 5,795
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
If solder was used then it needs to be replaced because solder will not hold up to the high pressures of 410A. It will need to be brazed with at least 15% silver solder.
 
  #4  
Old 08-18-17, 01:27 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 62,077
Received 1,509 Votes on 1,396 Posts
My bad.... I said soldered and not brazed.
Thanks for the post Airman.
 
  #5  
Old 08-18-17, 02:13 PM
jjrbus's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2010
Location: US
Posts: 325
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Did you guys have me confused, PJ always gives good info and airman seems to be saying the opposite.

Something I came across on the net is when spending a couple thousand on a new system why get cheap on an old line set? Which kinda makes sense.

I did find that much of the info I am seeking will be with the installation instructions with new unit.
 
  #6  
Old 08-20-17, 04:47 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 10,197
Received 53 Votes on 49 Posts
No competent service company would consider re-using old refrigerant lines.
The new unit will have a different type of refrigerant that is not compatible with the oil reside that will be in the old lines,
They also could be improperly sized for the new system and they have no idea if they are leak free.

If they suggest using the old lines move on to another company as they only want quick cash and to be able to make a quick get away!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: