Compressor running but not pumping


  #1  
Old 08-22-17, 02:04 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Unhappy Compressor running but not pumping

The compressor in my ancient units are running - in fact everything is running - but it is suddenly only moving air and not cooling it at all. Pressure gauges on each side of the compressor read the same. It seems that the compressor motor is spinning but is not compressing anything. I am being told that the unit (snyder general hvac) is so old that I need to spend thousands of dollars on a new system because the part is not available. I am told at least $1000 each for the two outside units and $5K each for both inside and outside.

I am retired and poor - so I am looking for a solution. Anyone have any ideas here?
 
  #2  
Old 08-22-17, 02:15 PM
Marq1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA MI
Posts: 9,745
Received 1,210 Upvotes on 1,098 Posts
If not compressing then likely the reed valves are bad so compressed air is leaking out.

How big of unit?
 
  #3  
Old 08-22-17, 02:22 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What are the pressures on both sides ?
 
  #4  
Old 08-22-17, 07:54 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I found a plate on the inside unit that says:

CLIMATE CONTROL
A unit of Snyder General Corporation
Model: S-801030 -1
Serial: 8171230-K41-0145

I can go outside in the daytime to see if I can find a plate on the outside unit.

My brother in law borrowed gages and is the one that actually worked on the unit today. I must have misunderstood him earlier because when I asked him just now about the actual pressure he told me "30 on the low side and 0 on the high side." He said he thinks it is a 2.5 ton unit. He confirmed that the compressor motor was running, just not compressing.

He wants me to put in window air conditioners and forget the whole thing. I do not want to abandon all hope that this can be fixed.
 
  #5  
Old 08-23-17, 12:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,588
Received 3,880 Upvotes on 3,477 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I am told at least $1000 each for the two outside units
I'm trying to understand how two compressors/systems went bad at the same time ? Was one previously and now the other one is ?

We cannot help you as far as charging or system pressures but you should get a tech to check the system as you seem to have a less then common problem there.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ai...ng-your-c.html
 

Last edited by PJmax; 08-23-17 at 12:46 AM.
  #6  
Old 08-23-17, 06:53 AM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
They have both been getting warmer over the past few seasons and the downstairs unit has stopped cooling altogether. My brother in law tells me that the upstairs unit is next and they both need to be replaced since they are the same age. I am trying to determine if I need a whole new compressor since the pressures on one side of this one is 0 - and if so what to buy and how to find it so I can do it myself. Or if I need to suck it up and sweat - because I can't afford $1,000 repair, let alone a $5,000 replacement.
 
  #7  
Old 08-23-17, 07:36 AM
Bob14525's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 1,636
Received 77 Upvotes on 68 Posts
Since these are old units, they will use R22 as the refrigerant. If the compressor needs to be replaced, any remaining refrigerant will need to be captured, the lines & evaporator coil pressure checked (usually with nitrogen), the lines evacuated, and the new compressor filled with the proper amount of refrigerant. Apart from the specialized equipment required to properly do the job, you also need EPA certification to work with refrigerants, particularly R22, since it is an ozone depleting refrigerant. To be legal, you will need to hire an EPA certified A/C technician to do the replacement
 
  #8  
Old 08-23-17, 10:45 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
Tools to do a compressor change correctly, and legally, can be a few thousand dollars.
It sounds like you've not yet diagnosed the issue.
 
  #9  
Old 08-23-17, 01:46 PM
O
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Fair enough. Not doing it myself then. I don't want to be a part of anything that hurts others or is illegal in any way. I have looked around for someone certified and who can get parts. Dang. Parts from these guys are through the roof. I found this on the internet:

TECUMSEH RKA5513EXD RK157ET-002-A4Y COMPRESSOR ROTARY 13200BTU 208-230/60/1 REPLACES 60626701 TECUMSEH # RK157ET-002-A4Y RKA5513EXD

Is it reasonable to buy one of these and get the repair person to use that for the replacement rather than his own part which is 300% more expensive?

The outside unit says it is a Model: A_R 703024-2T Ser: 0133201-L44-0472

I think the part works, but frankly, I just don't know - nor do I know exactly how to tell - especially since they are no longer in business.
 
  #10  
Old 08-23-17, 02:03 PM
S
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 1,771
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Sorry but that's not even close to what you need.
 
  #11  
Old 08-23-17, 03:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,588
Received 3,880 Upvotes on 3,477 Posts
A hired technician is not going to install your supplied compressor because then he's liable for any system problems you encounter.

Since the budget is tight... it may make sense to use a window unit or two.
 
  #12  
Old 08-24-17, 08:36 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
I think you need to slow down and get it diagnosed first.
It's almost impossible for a compressor to have positive pressure on the suction side but zero on the discharge. If the valves are broken the pressure should be at least the same as the suction side.
It's also very unlikely both units suffered the same failure at almost the same time.
If you order you own parts, you need to realize that you are responsible for the warranty and correctness of the parts.
That means if you order parts and call someone to install them, but then it's determined they are wrong, you are going to get charged for the visit. If the compressor fails immediately and/or needs additional work, you are responsible for the labor and parts.
I've seen many people think it's cheaper to order their own parts and wind up buried in costs with the equipment still not working.
Then there's also the cost of refrigerant if it's needed, the drier will need replacement, as will the contactor.
Then there's finding what killed the existing compressors. Which can only be determined with the systems up and running. How much more money will that cost you?
 
  #13  
Old 08-28-17, 11:17 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 2,183
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
So what happened here? Any updates?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: