HVAC unit troubleshooting

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-19-17, 08:52 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HVAC unit troubleshooting

I am completely uneducated when it comes to air conditioning units. I am trying to run this through the forum so I do not get raked when the ac guy comes out to the house. I have a standard unit hvac unit with a trane outside unit and an indoor unit. Apparently, my ac works for 3 or 4 hours and then it stops. After I flip the breaker it begins to work again, I have been doing this for a couple of week. Anyone have an idea of what could be the issue. Do you think it's electrical or something with the outside unit?

thanks,,
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-20-17, 12:16 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,608
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Hard to guess. You need to observe what the outside condensor unit is doing. If the system is calling for cooling.. it needs to be running. A typical problem would be either a bad fan motor or capacitor in the condensor. The fan slows down, possibly shut down on overheat and then the compressor overheats.
 
  #3  
Old 09-20-17, 03:31 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Your indoor unit is running but the outdoor unit is not

Recommended Action: Air coming through your vent will be warm. Check temperature setting on thermostat/control. If no change, contact your local Comfort Specialist. In the meantime, try turning off your thermostat/control for 1 to 3 hours to see if it will reset itself. For more detail please visit at :www.noadvertisingintheforums.com/
 

Last edited by the_tow_guy; 09-20-17 at 05:37 AM. Reason: Removed link.
  #4  
Old 09-20-17, 07:43 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 643
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
Since the unit runs for a while before stopping, the basic question here is why it stops.

Checking status of refrigerant charge is next. Many AC's , not all, have a sight-glass-moisture-indicators on the smaller copper tube exiting the out side unit.

http://http://www.supplyhouse.com/Si...ators-18863000

http://http://www.supplyhouse.com/sh...0sight%20glass

When running a properly charged AC glass should be clear (as if water was flowing thru) or occasionally bubbles. If low on refrigerant there will be lot's of bubbles or none.

Even better is checking refrigerant charge status with AC gauge set. There are many on line references to this. First find out what type of refrigerant your system uses.

http://https://www.harborfreight.com...2Cf&q=ac+gauge
 
  #5  
Old 09-20-17, 09:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,608
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
Most home A/C systems do not have a sight glass. A sight glass is not really a proper indication of a charge. Checking the refrigerant is not a DIY project and won't be encouraged or discussed here. .
 
  #6  
Old 09-22-17, 08:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: us
Posts: 643
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
PJmax :
Checking the refrigerant is not a DIY project and won't be encouraged or discussed here.

For the moderator to discourage or bar discussion of a widely used tool is contrary to the DIY forum concept.

DIY'ers successfully use gauge sets sold by retail outlets including Walmart, Sears, HomeDepot and others. Youtube is one of many sources of detailed instructions on using them. This use may not meet everyone's approval but that is reality.

PJmax:
Most home A/C systems do not have a sight glass.

If system has sight glass why not look at it?

PJmax:
A sight glass is not really a proper indication of a charge.
A sight glass is for a quick check of refrigerant, not to determine “proper level” When a systems shuts down prematurely it may be due to many reasons, including refrigerant. A quick check of sight glass is something a DYI'er can do that may help trouble shooting and avoid a needless expensive professional service call.
 
  #7  
Old 09-22-17, 08:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 53,608
Received 419 Votes on 392 Posts
For the moderator to discourage or bar discussion of a widely used tool is contrary to the DIY forum concept.
Sorry Doug.... it's this administrators of this DIY board that have made that decision. I just follow their rules.

There are other sites that do discuss these details and this can be asked there.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: