A/C blowing hot air and making buzzing buzzing noise

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-12-17, 09:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C blowing hot air and making buzzing buzzing noise

Please help...A/C blowing hot air and making buzzing noise about every 60 sec. Attached a video...you can hear the buzzing at 0:26 into the video.

I put in a new capacitor thinking that would fix the issue but nope.

if anyone can help me that would be great.. Thanks!


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_Gtc...ature=youtu.be
 

Last edited by SoildSnake; 10-12-17 at 09:38 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-17, 09:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
That is a private you tube video or nothing is there.

It sounds like the compressor in the outside condensor is short cycling on high heat.

Where did you change the capacitor ?
Is the fan in the condensor stopping too ?
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-17, 09:50 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
fan is running fine.... sorry about that try the video now. I changed the capacitor on the side of the unit from the outside condenser .
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-17, 10:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Ok... I can see that video. Yes...... that is the compressor making that noise.

Was there one cap or two in the unit ?
Post the model number for that condensor. If no longer visible.... post a picture of the contactor and capacitor area. How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #5  
Old 10-13-17, 06:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
do u think the compressor is bad?

Name:  ac1.jpg
Views: 763
Size:  58.8 KB

Name:  ac2.jpg
Views: 674
Size:  30.7 KB

Name:  ac3.jpg
Views: 703
Size:  66.8 KB

Name:  ac4.jpg
Views: 690
Size:  58.8 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 10-13-17 at 02:30 PM. Reason: enlarged pics
  #6  
Old 10-13-17, 02:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
I'm trying to figure out what that thing in the second picture is. Looks like maybe an old capacitor ? Doesn't appear wired now.

That's the new cap in place ? Looks like rust on it in the first picture.
 
  #7  
Old 10-13-17, 03:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the black thing looks like one of them 5-2-1 Hard Start Kit. Yes thats the new cap
 
  #8  
Old 10-13-17, 03:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 699
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
  #9  
Old 10-13-17, 04:09 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the Model is #CK24-1 .........
 
  #10  
Old 10-13-17, 04:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Not much available on that unit other than it's almost 25 years old.

From what I've seen in older part lists... that could be a start assist but it doesn't look to be connected in your unit,
 
  #11  
Old 10-14-17, 01:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
the Hard Start Kit was bad...i replace and A/C working again....the compressor is weak and on its way out. The unit is about 12 years old.


My question is.... should I replace and upgrade my Central A/C Unit or just replace with a new compressor? please let me know.
 
  #12  
Old 10-14-17, 01:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
If the unit is 12 years old then you didn't post the correct model number for it.
The old manual I was looking at uses a hard start relay like yours and it's circa 1993.
 
  #13  
Old 10-14-17, 02:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 137
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Name:  image1.jpg
Views: 654
Size:  13.0 KB

not sure how old the unit is....but the Model number is CK24-1B.....it said "goodman"

My question is.... should I replace and upgrade my Central A/C Unit or just replace with a new compressor? please let me know.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: