Auxiliary drain overflow switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-17-18, 06:00 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Auxiliary drain overflow switch

I need some advice in installing a float switch to turn off the a/c in the event that the main drain is clogged.
I live in a condo and have the air handler above the ceiling in the closet. I see that the aux drain is just pointed down and isnít connected to anything, meaning that the water will just pour on the ceiling! So I was looking at the Safe-T-Switch Model SS2. Looking at the picture, whatís the best way to install it?

Name:  a1.jpg
Views: 286
Size:  50.2 KB

Name:  a2.jpg
Views: 231
Size:  35.1 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 02-17-18 at 06:12 PM. Reason: reoriented/enlarged pics
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-17-18, 06:13 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I don't see the primary drain connected either.
There should be an overflow pan under the entire unit.
 
  #3  
Old 02-19-18, 06:20 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think the main drain is on the other side of the unit the white pipe on the right of the picture
 
Attached Images  
  #4  
Old 02-19-18, 06:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
That kit comes with the float switch, right angle fitting and a fitting for attaching to the air handler. The air handler thread on adapter is the wrong gender. You'll need to pickup one similar to what is there now a short piece of 3/4" pvc pipe. You'll unscrew the fitting pointing down and replace it with the new parts and the right angle fitting where the switch goes in will be pointing up.

You'll need to locate the thermostat wiring where it connects to the air handler. You can take a picture and post it so we can tell you what to connect to or find the yellow wire from the thermostat and connect the float switch in series with it. When the float is activated.... it will turn the compressor off.

Name:  SS2.jpg
Views: 277
Size:  16.4 KB
 
  #5  
Old 02-19-18, 08:30 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I understand what youíre saying, change out the 90 degree elbow from air handler with a straight portion that you drew that has the correct gender as the switch portion. What about the SS-1? Would that be a better option?
 
  #6  
Old 02-19-18, 09:47 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Samef difference. The fitting for the air handler end is still backwards.
 
  #7  
Old 02-24-18, 09:45 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,827
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Draining

As stated, it appears to look like the primary drain point down as if the trap was removed, itís hard to tell from a picture which one is higher in elevation. Sometimes, Primary and secondary taps are accessible, again, sometimes on both ends. But first, where is the secondary pan? It seems to be missing. They are required for above ceiling installs, especially hard ceilings. To install the float switch. Remove the 3/4XS female adapter, install a new one, extend it a few inches till it clears the cabinet, install a 90 and then the float switch.
 
  #8  
Old 03-01-18, 06:57 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just installed it like this and used the Y wire, I lifted the switch and it turns off the air handler and I guess the compressor at the same time? That’s normal right?
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by kentchan91; 03-01-18 at 08:10 PM.
  #9  
Old 03-01-18, 08:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
The Y wire should only operate the condensor/compressor. Opening it should not turn the fan off. Opening the R wire should shut system down.

You could post a picture of the wiring there.
 
  #10  
Old 03-01-18, 09:27 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Now it doesn’t look like I’m getting any heat or cool... but the fan turns on. And I checked the condenser, it clicks once when I turn on the heat/cool, but the fan on the condenser isn’t turning on!
 
Attached Images  
  #11  
Old 03-01-18, 09:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Could those splices get any tinier.

Power should be off when working on the wiring to eliminate any unintentional shorts to ground.

If you are using the red wire for the float now.... and the system isn't working..... the float is tripped.
 
  #12  
Old 03-01-18, 09:34 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I used the yellow wire... now Iím scared I broke something

edit: now the condenser is turning on

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 128
Size:  87.1 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 03-01-18 at 10:33 PM. Reason: reoriented picture
  #13  
Old 03-01-18, 10:34 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
That's a picture of the outside condensor. No connection made there.
 
  #14  
Old 03-05-18, 04:44 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I guess I can do the R wire... at least that way I'll know the float switch tripped because everything would be off
 
  #15  
Old 03-05-18, 06:01 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
There should be 5 wires to the outside condensor where you posted the picture. Those 5 wires probably connect in that junction box you also posted but I can't see the splices to advise any further.

There should be a yellow to yellow splice in that box but colors may have changed. You could check at the thermostat and see if yellow is on the Y terminal.
 
  #16  
Old 03-06-18, 12:46 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep, I changed it to the Y-Y splice, initially I found a Y-G splice, which i guess was going to the air handler. Now it works! Hopefully I glued it on right and it doesnt leak! Thanks!
 
  #17  
Old 03-06-18, 04:53 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Good job. You now have a security net but don't forget the main drain line should still be cleaned every year.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: