24VAC Line for Trane AH for Honeywell Lyric T5


  #1  
Old 03-18-18, 03:59 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
24VAC Line for Trane AH for Honeywell Lyric T5

Hello,

I'm trying to connect a my new thermostat (Honeywell Lyric T5). I have a Trane TWE049E13FB2. I do not have a C wire.


My current thermostat is a Trane. It is wired like this

Y2 = Blue
R and RC = Red
O = White
Y = Yellow
G= Green

My air handler looks like this.

G - Green
W1 = White
R = Red
X = Orange
YLO = Yellow

These are the connection to the condenser



The orangish wire goes to the condenser and the dark brown goes to my tstat.

The Orange wire that hooks to X on the board is wired to the Blue (Y2 on tstat)

My new tstat has this


I thought I could connect the Green G wire to C then on the AH connect the G to the B wire and jump the YLO to the G wire is this correct?
 
  #2  
Old 03-18-18, 07:32 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,023
Received 3,183 Likes on 2,858 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm looking over your stuff. I see two stage cooling.
Is this is a standard split A/C system with electric heat or a heat pump ?
I don't see any electric heat checked on the air handler decal.
 
  #3  
Old 03-19-18, 03:09 AM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Yes it's a standard split system. I have electric heat.
 
  #4  
Old 03-24-18, 12:28 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do you think I have the right idea?
 
  #5  
Old 03-24-18, 01:04 PM
I
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My Air Conditioner is a Trane XL19i.
 
  #6  
Old 03-25-18, 01:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,023
Received 3,183 Likes on 2,858 Posts
Sorry for the delay. I was trying to find more info on the air handler. Normally all the power for the stat and the condensor come from there but there is no visible connection from the AH to the condensor for common. It appears the air handler runs at different speeds depending on the input so I'm not sure at this point if you can jumper the G to the Y wire.

We know at the stat.....
R/Rc ------> red
W1 --------> white
G ----------> green
Y ----------> yellow
Y2 --------> blue

We know at the AH....
G - Green (G)
W1 = White (W1)
R = Red (R/Rc)
X = Orange (Y2)
YLO = Yellow (Y)

Out to the condensor I see....
W1 ---- > white
R -------> red
Y ------> yellow
Y2 -----> blue

I don't see a C (B) connection to the condensor.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: