Replacing Thermostat, confused about wiring configuration.


  #1  
Old 04-15-18, 05:13 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Replacing Thermostat, confused about wiring configuration.

I have a W and a O wire in the configuration of my original thermostat. Do I need to take the O Wire and put it in the W slot (since it has O/B next to it) and take the W wire and put it in the W2 slot of the Honeywell?

Just need some help, thank you!


 
  #2  
Old 04-15-18, 06:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,019
Received 3,183 Likes on 2,858 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Your old wiring shows a heat pump with back up electric heat. Is that correct ?

If that is correct - this is your wiring......

White ----- > AUX / W2
Orange ----> O/B / W
Green -------> G
Red ----------> R [put switch in R & Rc position]
Blue ---------> C
Yellow -----> Y
 

Last edited by PJmax; 04-15-18 at 07:04 PM.
  #3  
Old 04-15-18, 07:47 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Do I need to make a jumper between the R and Rc?
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-18, 09:23 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,019
Received 3,183 Likes on 2,858 Posts
No...... Since your old thermostat had only one R-wire connected,
make sure the slider tab is pushed up to cover the RC connection.
 
  #5  
Old 04-16-18, 06:37 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: United States
Posts: 3
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thank you! I ran into complications last night, the Lyric unit kept displaying there was no power to the unit. I turned the power off to the AC unit at the outside breaker box beforehand, but I guess that didn't turn the power off the main unit inside. So while wiring the Lyric, wires touched at one point and it caused a fuse to blow and that's why it wasn't displaying any power to the unit on the Lyric. The guy we had coming out today to refill the freon, took a look at it and replaced the fuse, but he advised the wiring was correct to the Lyric. So again, thank you PJmax!
 
  #6  
Old 04-16-18, 06:56 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,019
Received 3,183 Likes on 2,858 Posts
You're welcome. Lesson learned.... no problem.
 
  #7  
Old 04-22-18, 09:38 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 39
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A multimeter is your friend.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: