Installing new mini split- need advice

Old 04-19-18, 02:15 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Installing new mini split- need advice

Hey gang! Finally going to install a mini split a/c system in this old house. I had a contractor come out and quoted a 24k btu unit with 12k & 15k indoor units... Obviously that was way out of budget and planning to buy and install myself. I am an electrician with experience in most things mechanical. I have my gas certificate but don't do AC work very often (got certified at work in order to recharge our buildings AC units. )

I'm looking at blue ridge or LG, and going to go with ceiling cassettes vs wall units.
First questions center around start up. I understand the compressor comes pre-charged with 410a. Specs say enough for 170' of line set, I should be at about 100' total for both units.
I'm going to buy an inexpensive vacuum pump to evacuate the system.

Does anyone with more experience have any tips or guidance for me? Let's say I've connected all my lines and such... Where/how is the vac pump then attached? Do I also need to pressure test using nitrogen? After I do all that I assume I will open a valve on the compressor to release the 410a. Will I need to add or remove any 410a?
I have an older recovery machine and possibly gauges (if I can find them)... Can that be used to pull a vacuum? Can it be used at all with a 410a system?
Sorry if I sound ignorant, in just trying to get my ducks in a row before pulling the trigger.
Thank you!

Old 04-19-18, 02:38 PM
R
Received 199 Upvotes on 181 Posts
Nitrogen and nitrogen regulator to pressurize to 500-600 PSI. Vacuum pump and micron gauge. Flair block and tubing cutter. The fitting on the unit will likely be 5/16” so an adaptor as well.

Old 04-19-18, 02:43 PM
M
The micron gauge checks for vacuum leaks right? I have not looked yet, but that may be the thing I won't be able to easily (inexpensively) obtain...

Old 04-19-18, 02:48 PM
Group Moderator