Condensor Fan Needs A Push

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-03-18, 04:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Condensor Fan Needs A Push

Hi. I have a Rheem RAMA 060JAZ 208-230 volt central air system. Lately, I have to occasionally give the fan on the outdoor unit a push with a stick to get it going. It then runs and cools the house well.

I would like to try to fix this myself. Where do I begin in figuring out what needs to be replaced?

Thanks in advance.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-03-18, 05:19 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,438
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
99.9% of the time it's the capacitor that's bad.
 
  #3  
Old 05-03-18, 05:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,309
Received 33 Votes on 30 Posts
Test the capacitor vs it’s original rating
 
  #4  
Old 05-04-18, 04:12 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,987
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
Another thing you can do is check the motor bearings.
Turn off the circuit beaker to the unit and remove the fan shield.
Carefully grasp the fan blade and gently rock it back and forth to see if you can detect ANY side to side movement of the motor shaft.
This is more easily done with the fan blade removed but can be done while still installed.
 
  #5  
Old 05-05-18, 02:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you Joe, roughneck77, and GregH.
 
  #6  
Old 05-05-18, 03:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,627
Received 339 Votes on 317 Posts
If it turns out to be the capacitor.... it should be a dual run 80+5mfd @370vac round capacitor.
Rheem OEM # 43-23204-29

(always check visually with current part)

Rheem parts list/Rheem/92-42800-RAMA.pdf
 
  #7  
Old 05-17-18, 04:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi. It was the start capacitor. I replaced it, but it continued to trip occasionally, albeit much more sporadically (like every other day instead of twice daily). I took your advice and ordered the unit you suggested. It's a dual capacitor. My unit had separate start and run capacitors. I'm a little confused now about which wire goes where. The new 43-23204-29 unit has three ports--Herm, Fan, and C. The old start capacitors ports were unmarked. I'm also unsure of where to reroute the start capacitor's wires to. Which wires go where from the old start capacitor and from the current run capacitor? Thanks!
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: