Carrier A/C: drain pan clogged

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-18, 07:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Carrier A/C: drain pan clogged

Hello I have a Carrier AC FA4BNC048 Looks like my water drainage got clogged and PAN is filled up with water.

Need instructions to remove water from drain.

any manuals out there for me to check them out please
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-18, 09:00 PM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,139
Received 195 Votes on 181 Posts
You likely either need to clean the drainage hole in the pan or the drainage hose out with compressed air.
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-18, 06:58 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks XSleeper for quick response how do I open or get to drainage pan, any instructions are helpful
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-18, 10:35 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,317
Received 33 Votes on 30 Posts
The pan is under the evaporator coil.
You can try suction on the drain line with a shop vac.
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-18, 10:40 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Pictures of what you have are helpful too.... How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #6  
Old 05-07-18, 04:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Attached are some pics.

Thanks roughneck77 I used the vacuum a while back for about 30 minutes or so to drain all water out and poured with Clog remover liquid and also vinegar.

Is there a Fan Filter for this AC Unit?
 
Attached Images    
  #7  
Old 05-07-18, 04:38 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,317
Received 33 Votes on 30 Posts
Yes, there is a filter. Should be changed every 3 months. I hope you’ve changed it before
 
  #8  
Old 05-07-18, 06:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Is that the only drain line connected ?
It doesn't look like it connects to anything.

It looks like the return may come up from below. The filter should be in the return line.
 
  #9  
Old 05-07-18, 09:07 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
not sure how its connected but that's the drain line seems be the white pipe which is at bottom.
 
  #10  
Old 05-08-18, 04:08 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
I only see a 6" piece of PVC. Where's the rest of it ?
Where is the water draining too ?

Name:  3.jpg
Views: 344
Size:  15.2 KB

Is there another line elsewhere that we can't see in the pictures ?
That may be a dead end fitting for a float switch.
 
  #11  
Old 05-08-18, 06:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Attached a better picture for clarity and more angles of all pipes I have connected to UNIT.

yes you are correct 6" piece of PVC is the float switch will it help if I pour clog clear liquid inside it?
 
Attached Images    
  #12  
Old 05-08-18, 07:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
NO.... use no drain cleaners.

Ok..... much better. I didn't see the primary drain line as it's in that black foam.
That line is what is clogged. The 6" 'PVC fitting is the overflow or secondary drain line.

You need to find out where that lines goes in the wall. That is the line that is clogged.
It's PVC.... it may have to be cut open in order to clean it.
 
  #13  
Old 05-08-18, 08:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Pete I used a water vacuum for drain line outside my house and for now luckily so far I don't see any water is being stagnant or leaking.

now I am wondering if I have to do some maintenance like cleaning "Fan Coil Filter" is that some where to be found or cleaning the coils by opening the UNIT...what your expert advise
 
  #14  
Old 05-08-18, 08:37 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,317
Received 33 Votes on 30 Posts
So you’ve never changed a filter ever in this unit?
How long have you lived here?
 
  #15  
Old 05-08-18, 08:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
regular filter I have changed it...may be I should say furnace filters if I have any for my UNIT
 
  #16  
Old 05-09-18, 07:26 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
There should only be one filter. It will be in the return line. It may be behind a large return grill in a wall. It should look like a typical furnace filter. It won't be inside the air handler. It will be external.

You can "clean" the drain pan by removing that float switch, pouring in one cup of bleach and then flushing it with at least a gallon of water. The bleach will flush the algae and muck out of that area of the pan. Best to do it when the A/C won't be used for a day or two to allow the bleach to drain out.
 
  #17  
Old 05-15-18, 07:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Got it thanks Pete
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: