A/C issues

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-10-18, 08:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C issues

Just had some AC put in my garage. They dropped two 8” ducts. I can feel myself breathing harder then the air blowing. Is that normal or was it not hooked up incorrectly?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-11-18, 02:46 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,315
Received 33 Votes on 30 Posts
They hooked the garage up to the homes central ac system?
 
  #3  
Old 05-11-18, 03:01 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 506
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
That is illegal in my area and it is probably illegal in your area as well unless that area is no longer used as a garage and has been converted into living space. If the duct work was installed correctly you would get a lot of air from those ducts and not just a whisper of air supply.
 
  #4  
Old 05-11-18, 03:10 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,913
Received 24 Votes on 20 Posts
The unit needs to be sized for the area served and the number of outlets. Too many outlets will drop the pressure differential. You cannot build pressure. Try closing registers in the house and see if the air flow improves.
 
  #5  
Old 05-11-18, 08:30 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
That would be completely against code unless that is no longer a garage.

Connecting the garage to the central air is not a good choice. If both of those new lines are supplies.... you are now drawing air conditioned air out of the house due to no return line.
If you install a return line and it's still used as a garage.... now you are drawing in fumes from the car.
 
  #6  
Old 05-11-18, 09:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C issues

It’s no longer a garage. It was converted into a salon. I closed two vents. One in my bedroom and one in the extra room but still no difference.
 
  #7  
Old 05-11-18, 10:26 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,668
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Then the blower can not supply the additional connections or they were connected to a small branch line that cannot support more supply registers.

Unfortunately there isn't much here for a DIY repair. You'd need to get an HVAC guy or your installer involved.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: