A/C Help

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-16-18, 08:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C Help

Hit my outdoor ac unit wires with my trimmer. Red and white wires exposed and obviously touching. Fan stopped. Replaced the contactor but still not working. Any ideas?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-16-18, 08:31 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas, California
Posts: 1,460
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Check the fuse on the control unit and make sure you have 24V on the red and white wire.
 
  #3  
Old 05-16-18, 08:37 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The mentioned fuse will be inside the air handler unit in the house.
 
  #4  
Old 05-19-18, 10:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the input. I have opened up the inside unit. Wires everywhere and I don't see a fuse. Any better idea of what/ where I'm looking for?
 
  #5  
Old 05-19-18, 11:02 AM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,988
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
Somewhere there should be a fuse or mini cct breaker.
If your unit does not have a fuse and the shorted wires were like that for awhile the transformer could be burnt out.
You should be able to see the transformer and where the wires are routed.
 
  #6  
Old 05-19-18, 11:19 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
 
  #7  
Old 05-19-18, 11:22 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
These pics are what I am looking at. Can anyone pinpoint me a little more?

 
  #8  
Old 05-19-18, 11:45 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
https://www.amazon.com/White-Rodgers...+control+board


This looks like your board. Can you see the 3 amp fuse?
It is right above the thermostat wire connections in the picture that I posted .
 

Last edited by Houston204; 05-19-18 at 01:33 PM.
  #9  
Old 05-19-18, 11:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Measure for 24vac across the transformer where labeled.

Name:  xf.jpg
Views: 63
Size:  47.1 KB
 
  #10  
Old 05-19-18, 02:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Houston. Fuse was blown... replaced but nothing. I'll test the transformer next.
 
  #11  
Old 05-19-18, 02:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
If the transformer measures ok..... try at the R and C thermostat connections on the furnace board.

See if the heat works.
 
  #12  
Old 05-29-18, 10:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 6
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well thanks to all who provided help. I changed the contactor, capacitor, fuse, and nothing. After going through wiring etc, in the 110 degree attic I notice a button on the front of the air handler that is obviously engaged when the front panel is on. Hold it in and it kicked right on. Geez, it was probably just fix the wires I hit with my trimmer and change the fuse. Live and learn. I know a lot more about about my AC system now at least. Thanks again.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: