Fan isn't spinning

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-20-18, 11:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Fan isn't spinning

A/c in 99 mobile home, had it hooked up last July, heat and a/c has been working fine. Yesterday the fan quit spinning. Figured it was frozen somewhere, shut it down, ran fan on. Still isnt spinning almost 24 hours later. When I attempt to run it, when I stand outside I can hear a series of clicks and relays, but no fan movement. We're in the process of debating using this as rental unit next year after we build/but a home, or outright selling it to add to down payment on home. Inside A unit is 3 years old, pretty sure outside unit is original. Any ideas? Model # BRCQ0421BD, if that helps
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-20-18, 12:51 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
Are we speaking of the indoor fan motor (blower) or the outdoor fan motor (condenser fan)

The culprit is usually a run capacitor.

Does the fan spin freely with power removed?
 
  #3  
Old 05-20-18, 01:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The outdoor condenser. I don't know if the fan spins freely with it off. I'm a bit hesitant to start pulling things apart without guidance.
 
  #4  
Old 05-20-18, 01:15 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
If you turn off the thermostat and get a small stick, can you spin the fan?

https://www.hamiltonhomeproducts.com...BRCQ-Parts.pdf
 
  #5  
Old 05-20-18, 02:57 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The fan spins freely in both directions
 
  #6  
Old 05-20-18, 03:15 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
I would turn off the breaker to the outdoor unit and remove the service panel to see if the capacitor is swollen. (It will be)

Take a picture or 2 of the capacitor and post them here.

It is labeled 9 in the manual that I posted.
 
  #7  
Old 05-20-18, 03:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,608
Received 338 Votes on 316 Posts
A little info on picture posting.... How-to-insert-pictures
 
  #8  
Old 05-23-18, 08:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Included a pic of the capacitor, fan motor, compressor and whatever that blue thing is out in the corner. My daughter just told me she'd heard what sounded like leaking when the air would cut off last week, coming from under the house, so now I'm wondering if it's a compression issue and if the compressor needs to be replaced and recharged.
 
Attached Images     
  #9  
Old 05-23-18, 04:02 PM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
That dual capacitor requires replacement. It should not be swollen on the terminal side but it is...

Z97F9848 - 35 + 5 uf MFD 440 Volt VAC - GE Round Dual Run Capacitor Upgrade https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00EZPO11K..._HmFbBbHQW8TA5
 
  #10  
Old 05-23-18, 06:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,608
Received 338 Votes on 316 Posts
The insides of that unit could use a little cleaning.
That filter (blue thing) in the last picture is rusting out laying in the mud.

Be sure you pull power to that unit before doing anything inside it.
 
  #11  
Old 05-23-18, 08:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its actually sitting on some sort of psuedo slab made of plastic. I wasn't here when it was hooked up after the house was placed. It was originally supposed to be by the back door, on an elevated spot, it all got moved right by the front door, where water collects when it rains. The filter, aka, blue thing, is that a standard filter I can pick up at a supply store, or a special order?
 
  #12  
Old 05-24-18, 09:46 AM
Houston204's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 7,372
Received 10 Votes on 8 Posts
The filter/drier is part of the refrigerant circuit. Just clean that area,clean off the filter drier and spray some Rust-Oleum on it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: