A/C compressor not running

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-28-18, 08:20 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A/C compressor not running

So not much air coming out of registers I discovered line in basement frosted with some ice...checked the evaporator coil which was frozen so I properly thawed it out by shutting it off running with fan only and waited till all was dry. Changed air filter which was somewhat dirty but not real bad. System worked great after that for about 4 hours then seemed to not be cooling anymore. Blower working & drain not clogged. The compressor fan works but now do not hear that tell take buzz from the compressor. Stumped
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-29-18, 05:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,306
Received 32 Votes on 29 Posts
May have a leak and now it’s out of refrigerant.
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-18, 06:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does the compressor have a shut off in case in in case of low refrigerant?
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-18, 06:10 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If not that would not explain why the compressor isn't running when it was before after thawing system out . Was working great after that for 4hrs
 
  #5  
Old 05-29-18, 06:22 AM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,306
Received 32 Votes on 29 Posts
Some have low pressure switches, others don’t. Depends on your exact model.
 
  #6  
Old 05-29-18, 08:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok so it is possible that it developed a small leak from the freeze up and it simply took that long to get low enough...It's. Goodman furnace and Im pretty sure the AC was installed when the furnace was which was within the last 10yrs I think(bought house just over a year ago). The evap coil and the inside of plenom are immaculate look practically new. Not sure on the make of the compressor unit not home at the moment. Thanks for your input. My daughter-in-law's father teaches HVAC at a local Tech Center and he's coming over after work to look at it all. He's a licensed technician so that will help a lot. I was just trying to wrap my head around what could be the issue.
 
  #7  
Old 05-29-18, 05:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 1,306
Received 32 Votes on 29 Posts
May have already had a leak, resulting in the freeze up.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: