Wire too short for air handler

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-12-18, 11:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wire too short for air handler

I have an AC tech installing 3ton Goodman units (inside and outside)
Inside Air handler: ARUF37C14 (goodman)
outside compressor: GSZ140361KE (goodman)


the problem for inside unit is that the electric wire is too short because old unit and new unit have different sides for wire.

I wonder if any experts who can give us some suggestions.
What type of wire doe we need to buy and where to buy?
should this be done by AC tech or electrician?
I proposed to put something in bottom to raise the air handler. AC tech said it's not a good idea because the drain pipes will be messed up.

any suggestions welcome.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-12-18, 12:08 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I'm guessing you mean cable not wire. If so look on the cable sheath. That will tell you the size cable you need. You would add an extension same size using a 4x4 junction box fir the connection. The .junction box would be fastened to any suitable surface depending on what's there and then covered with a blank cover plate.. Definitely DIY.
 
  #3  
Old 07-12-18, 12:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,679
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
As Ray mentioned set a splice box to extend the wiring. If you don't have a service switch at the air handler.... install one in that junction box.

I'm guessing no electric reheat coils as that would require some large cabling.
 
  #4  
Old 07-12-18, 05:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 223
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Electric wire to furnace is too short

I'm having a tech install brand new goodman heat pump system (whole system inside and outside).

brand: goodman
size: 3 ton
type: heat pump
furnace/Inside unit is: ARUF37C14
compressor: GSZ140361KE

the problem is that inside unit has different side of wiring. so existing electric wire to the furnace a bit short.


questions:
what type of wire do we need to buy for this?
is this a electrician job or AC tech job?
the wire is protected by a metal tube, do you have to re-run the tube all the way from electric panel?
thank you very much if anyone can help on this.
 
  #5  
Old 07-12-18, 05:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,679
Received 343 Votes on 321 Posts
Threads combined. Please keep all posts in this thread.
 
  #6  
Old 07-12-18, 06:19 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Please post a picture. Note some phones don't display correctly and you may need to use a computer
https://www.doityourself.com/forum/e...-pictures.html.
 
  #7  
Old 07-12-18, 06:30 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 1,413
Received 12 Votes on 11 Posts
If your tech doesn't know then you need to get a different tech. In most places the tech will do whatever is required to get things running. In some locals they require an electrician due to local codes/laws. Your tech should know this.
 
  #8  
Old 07-13-18, 02:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The wiring supplying the indoor unit must be sized based on the rated amps. Anybody installing such equipment should know how to do this. If your installer doesn't know how, then he should subcontract to an electrician.

If the existing wiring is not adequately sized, it must be replaced.
 
  #9  
Old 07-13-18, 06:39 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,981
Received 22 Votes on 17 Posts
What type of wire doe we need to buy and where to buy?

The air handler is essentially just an electric furnace and operates on 240 volts. The question you haven't provided an answer to is this, how much electric heat will the air handler have? How many KW? Heat pumps normally need emergency backup heat so that has to be taken into consideration when sizing the wire and circuit breaker. Typical sizes might be 10 KW, 15 KW or 20 KW. Which is it?
 
  #10  
Old 07-13-18, 06:43 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,933
Received 54 Votes on 47 Posts
The air handler is essentially just an electric furnace and operates on 240 volts
Some air handlers just move the air around. Heat may be only from the heat pump or an add on electric heater as Joe posted.
 

Last edited by Tolyn Ironhand; 07-14-18 at 05:18 AM.
  #11  
Old 07-16-18, 05:20 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: U.S. Midwest
Posts: 1,340
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm perplexed. After many responses, the O.P. has not answered any. I'm still confused whether we are talking about the length of the wire or the rating of the wire. I'm out of here until the O.P, responds in some way. Bye.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: